Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Rookie Defourny leads rain-affected afternoon session at Le Mans

Rookie Defourny leads rain-affected afternoon session at Le Mans

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Jorge Cunha  / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Jorge Cunha / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Strakka Racing’s newcomer Max Defourny emerged as a surprise pacesetter on day one of the Eurocup Formula Renault pre-season test at Le Mans.

Defourny, a podium finisher in FR1.6 NEC and French F4, vaulted to the top of the timesheets with two hours to go, clearing Jack Aitken by four tenths.

Rain hit the track shortly afterwards, nullifying any chance of further improvements for the rest of the running.

Despite the changing weather, Defourny’s lap ended up being the overall benchmark for day one, besting Aitken’s effort from a similarly mixed-conditions morning session.

While the Brit was second, Ben Barnicoat of his former team Fortec took third, just 0.004s clear of Tech 1’s Anthoine Hubert. Koiranen GP drivers Jake Hughes and Anton De Pasquale were fourth and fifth.

Valentin Hasse-Clot finished seventh in a second consecutive session, with Nikita Mazepin in eighth despite bringing out a late red flag.

Simon Gachet and Mathias Kristensen completed the top ten.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Max Defourny Strakka Racing 1:34.101
2 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 1:35.533 0.432
3 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 1:34.796 0.695
4 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:34.800 0.699
5 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 1:35.074 0.973
6 Anton De Pasquale Koiranen GP 1:35.205 1.104
7 Valentin Hasse-Clot Strakka Racing 1:35.215 1.114
8 Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:35.487 1.386
9 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing 1:35.665 1.564
10 Mathias Kristensen JD Motorsport 1:35.740 1.639
11 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1:35.812 1.711
12 Jayde Kruger Strakka Racing 1:35.979 1.878
13 Dennis Olsen Manor MP Motorsport 1:36.111 2.010
14 Lasse Sorensen Manor MP Motorsport 1:36.121 2.020
15 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 1:36.136 2.035
16 Harrison Scott AVF 1:36.177 2.076
17 Henrique Chaves AVF 1:36.572 2.471
18 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering 1:37.074 2.973
19 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:37.093 2.992