Home Formula 2 Quaife-Hobbs beats Rossi to claim maiden GP2 win at Monza

Quaife-Hobbs beats Rossi to claim maiden GP2 win at Monza

by Peter Allen
Adrian Quaife-Hobbs

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs produced a controlled drive to record his first GP2 win in the sprint race at Monza.

From second on the grid, Quaife-Hobbs moved into the lead off the start as pole-sitter Alexander Rossi bogged down and third-placed James Calado failed to get away at all.

The Hilmer driver survived a brief rain shower and some late pressure from Rossi to win by 1.8 seconds.

Rossi’s poor start relegated him to fourth behind Julian Leal and Sam Bird but the American was able to capitalise when the pair both ran on at the first chicane during the slippery phase and pull past into second place.

Leal collected his second consecutive sprint race podium in third ahead of Russian Time duo Bird and Tom Dillmann. Fabio Leimer finished sixth and claimed the two bonus points for fastest lap on the very last lap, meaning he only lost two points relative to Bird and takes a six point margin onto the next round in Singapore.

Stefano Coletti and Felipe Nasr once again failed to score – Coletti for the ninth time in ten races – as they had a race-long duel outside of the points, finishing 12th and 13th. They are now 24 and 29 points respectively behind Leimer while Calado – who finished two laps down after a failed gamble on wet tyres – is 40 points off the lead.

Rio Haryanto and Johnny Cecotto completed the points, the latter holding onto eighth under late pressure from Dani Clos.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport 21 laps in 32:51.149
2 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing +1.849
3 Julian Leal Racing Engineering +4.335
4 Sam Bird Russian Time +5.468
5 Tom Dillmann Russian Time +8.636
6 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering +12.037
7 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team +14.899
8 Johnny Cecotto Arden International +17.338
9 Dani Clos MP Motorsport +17.842
10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin +23.973
11 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing +25.646
12 Felipe Nasr Carlin +26.088
13 Stefano Coletti Rapax +26.553
14 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus +28.119
15 Mitch Evans Arden International +28.504
16 Simon Trummer Rapax +29.004
17 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport +29.588
18 Jake Rosennzweig Barwa Addax Team +36.746
19 Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport +43.458
20 Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus +47.238
21 Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing +50.257
22 Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix +1:12.318
23 Marcus Ericsson DAMS +1 lap
24 Sergio Campana Trident Racing +1 lap
25 Stephane Richelmi DAMS +1 lap
26 James Calado ART Grand Prix +2 laps