Home Formula FordFFord Festival Previewing the 2019 Formula Ford Festival

Previewing the 2019 Formula Ford Festival

by Ida Wood

Formula Scout will bring coverage of the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch for the first time this weekend, where nearly 70 drivers are set to compete.

The junior single-seater classic often attracts previous winners, and this year three-time winner Joey Foster will be in action, as well as two-time winners Ivor McCullough and Niall Murray, and 2018 winner Joshua Smith – now a McLaren GT junior.

Other junior single-seater stars on the entry list include recently crowned BRSCC National FF1600 champion Ross Martin, who is Murray’s Team Dolan team-mate, Asian Formula 3 star Jordan Dempsey, New Zealand FFord race-winner Callum Crawley, Dario Franchitti protege Ciaran Haggerty and Young Racing Driver Academy member Logan Hannah.

The Team USA Scholarship, which launched the careers of the likes of Josef Newgarden and Oliver Askew, brings Josh Green and Scott Huffaker to the event with Cliff Dempsey Racing. The former BRDC British Formula 3 team will also be fielding Team Canada scholars Zachary Vanier and Jonathan Woolridge.

The event runs in a knockout format, with heats and second chance races leading to two semi-finals and then the overall final.

There is a split between drivers in modern machinery, and those who field older FF1600 chassis and can therefore by winners in their age class too.

10 drivers to watch

Joey Foster, Don Hardman Racing – 2009 Australian F3 champion, 2003, ’04 & ’17 FFord Festival winner
Niall Murray, Team Dolan -2016 & ’18 BRSCC National FF1600 champion, 2013 & ’16 FFord Festival winner
Joshua Smith, Oldfield Motorsport – 2017 BRSCC Northern FF1600 champion, 2018 FFord Festival winner
Ross Martin, Team Dolan – 2019 BRSCC National FF1600 champion, 2017 & ’18 Scottish FFord champion
Chris Middlehurst, Team Dolan – 2013 FR2.0 BARC champion, 3rd in 2016 FFord Festival
Jordan Dempsey, Kevin Mills Racing – 7th in 2019 Asian F3, 2018 Chinese F4 champion, 2nd in 2016 Martin Donnelly Trophy
Matthew Cowley, Team Dolan – 2017 F1600 Championship Series champion, 2nd in 2018 Walter Hayes Trophy
Michael Eastwell, Kevin Mills Racing – 2nd in 2018 BRSCC National FF1600, 19th in 2018 F2000 Championship Series
Luke Cooper, Swift Cooper – 2018 Castle Combe FF1600 champion, 3rd in 2017 BRSCC National FF1600
Peter Dempsey, Cliff Dempsey Racing – 5th in 2013 Indy Lights, 2006, ’07 & ’10 Walter Hayes Trophy winner