Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Pole for Gasly, second row for Rowland in final Eurocup qualifying

Pole for Gasly, second row for Rowland in final Eurocup qualifying

by Ant Musker
Photo: World Series by Renault

Photo: World Series by Renault

Championship leader Pierre Gasly has boosted his chances of winning the Eurocup 2.0 championship, as he secured pole position for the season finale at Catalunya with rival Oliver Rowland lining up fourth on the grid.

Gasly claimed his fourth pole of the season by pulling out a stunning late lap in the group A qualifying session, narrowly besting the existing benchmark set by Esteban Ocon. Nyck de Vries, yesterday?s race winner, dominated the prior group B session, preventing championship hopeful Rowland from starting on the front row.

Rowland is tasked with overturning an eight-point deficit to Gasly, for whom a second-placed finish in the final race will be enough to secure the title.

Ocon will take third on the grid ahead of the the Brit, with Tech 1?s Egor Orudzhev and ART driver Andrea Pizzitola sharing the third row.

Aurelien Panis will start from seventh, while Jake Dennis qualified in eighth. Colombian Oscar Tunjo and KTR driver Alexander Albon will make it an all-Lotus junior fifth row.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing 1:43.400
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:43.603
3 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team 1:43.420
4 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 1:44.013
5 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:43.656
6 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team 1:44.039
7 Aurelien Panis Prema Powerteam 1:43.770
8 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports 1:44.087
9 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:43.803
10 Alexander Albon KTR 1:44.180
11 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport 1:43.853
12 Ignazio D’Agosto KTR 1:44.241
13 Luca Ghiotto* Prema Powerteam 1:43.935
14 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports 1:44.278
15 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:43.948
16 Jack Aitken Manor MP Motorsport 1:44.309
17 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:44.043
18 Benjamin Bailly RC Formula 1:44.361
19 William Vermont ARTA Engineering 1:44.169
20 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:44.386
21 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports 1:44.268
22 Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP 1:44.493
23 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing 1:44.282
24 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP 1:44.899
25 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 1:44.587
26 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing 1:44.966
27 Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering 1:44.640
28 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport 1:45.203
29 Yu Kanamaru KTR 1:44.808
30 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:45.327
31 Roman Beregech RC Formula 1:45.285
32 Leo Roussel Manor MP Motorsport 1:45.543
33 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing 1:46.143
34 John Filippi RC Formula 1:47.035

* Luca Ghiotto will lose three places on the grid and, therefore, is set to start in P16