Home News Petrov takes first Indy Pro 2000 pole of year for 2021’s penultimate race

Petrov takes first Indy Pro 2000 pole of year for 2021’s penultimate race

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Exclusive Autosport’s Artem Petrov took his second Indy Pro 2000 pole by topping the timesheet in the first qualifying of the title-deciding weekend at Mid-Ohio.

The 20-minute session had hardly got underway before the red flag had come out for Turn 3 Motorsport’s James Roe spinning off at the first turn on his first attempt at a flying lap.

The seven-minute break in track action was not removed from the time as the clock was stopped, and when it restarted laptimes improved continually until the closing moments of the running.

Petrov came into the weekend as a driver with a very narrow chance of winning the title, but Christian Rasmussen, who qualified second, should have now denied Petrov a chance just by qualifying his car to race.

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Rasmussen qualified just ahead of main title rival Braden Eves, with the Exclusive Autosport driver putting in a late effort to line up alongside Juncos Racing’s Reece Gold – another driver coming in with an extremely remote title chance.

Exclusive’s Christian Brooks left it late to put in his best time to go fifth ahead of Miller Vinatieri Motorsports’ Jack William Miller.

Abel Motorsports’ Jacob Abel was seventh ahead of Juncos Racing’s Enaam Ahmed, with JHDD’s Wyatt Brichacek and Pabst Racing’s Hunter McElrea, sitting third in points, rounding out the top 10.

Debutant Jordan Missig, also driving for Pabst, was the slowest of the 11 runners to set a time, some seven-tenths behind team-mate McElrea. Roe will start alongside on the sixth and final row.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Artem Petrov Exclusive Autosport 1m16.4411s 13
2 Christian Rasmussen JHDD 1m16.5952s +0.1541s 13
3 Braden Eves Exclusive Autosport 1m16.6473s +0.2062s 13
4 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m16.6977s +0.2566s 12
5 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport 1m16.8173s +0.3762s 13
6 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m16.8861s +0.4450s 12
7 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m16.9628s +0.5217s 11
8 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m17.0334s +0.5923s 12
9 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD 1m17.2533s +0.8122s 13
10 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing 1m17.2808s +0.8397s 12
11 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m17.9912s +1.5501s 13
12 James Roe Jr Turn 3 Motorsport no time 0