Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Panis takes maiden Eurocup win from pole at Moscow Raceway

Panis takes maiden Eurocup win from pole at Moscow Raceway

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

ART Junior Team’s Aurelien Panis picked up his first victory in Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, having led the entirety of race one at Moscow Raceway from pole position.

The Frenchman, who had recorded his first win in FR2.0 in the NEC championship’s most recent round at Hockenheim, made a smooth getaway from the grid and enjoyed a calm, dominant race to the flag.

Compatriot Andrea Pizzitola managed to slot into second into turn one and troubled Panis early on, but settled for second after a few laps.

Front row starter Anthoine Hubert finished third on the road, running close behind Pizzitola the whole race, but was handed a ten second post-race penalty for jumping the start. Caterham junior Matt Parry was the main beneficiary – the Welsh star had used Egor Orudzhev‘s move on Levin Amweg to get alongside the two coming out of the final turn and take fourth place, which would then translate into a maiden podium.

Amweg kept fourth, finishing ahead of ART Junior Team squadmate Callan O’Keeffe, who managed to get past Orudzhev in the closing minutes.

Kevin Jorg was the top Josef Kaufmann Racing driver in seventh, ahead of local guest driver Matevos Isaakyan and Prema’s Dennis Olsen. Hubert’s ten-second penalty meant that he was classified in 10th place.

The race saw two retirements – championship leader Nyck de Vries picked up a puncture on the opening lap and ended his race in the pits, while Jack Aitken‘s car came to a halt on-track on lap five.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 18 laps in 27:56.379
2 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +2.575
3 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +4.899
4 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +5.653
5 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +7.135
6 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +8.738
7 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +11.811
8 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +12.193
9 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +13.487
10 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +13.537
11 Alexander Albon KTR +15.003
12 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +18.327
13 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +19.075
14 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +20.114
15 George Russell Koiranen GP +22.198
16 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +22.330
17 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +24.399
18 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +27.353
19 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport +29.057
20 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing +29.520
21 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +31.954
22 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +33.227
23 Semen Evstigneev BVM Motorsport +34.251
24 Gregor Ramsay KTR +35.106
25 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP +36.880
26 Danyil Pronenko BVM Motorsport +48.851
Not classified
Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +14 laps
Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP +17 laps