Home Formula 2 Palmer wins Bahrain sprint race to take early points lead

Palmer wins Bahrain sprint race to take early points lead

by Peter Allen
Photo: Sam Bloxham / LAT Photographic

Photo: Sam Bloxham / LAT Photographic

Jolyon Palmer leads the GP2 standings after the opening weekend of the 2014 season following a controlled victory in the Bahrain sprint race.

Felipe Nasr started on the reverse grid pole position, but ruined his chances of finally winning a GP2 race at the 46th attempt by getting an awful start.

Fellow front-row starter Simon Trummer moved into the lead, but was overtaken by Palmer into turn one on the second lap.

The DAMS driver was followed throughout the remainder of the race by Trummer and Julian Leal, but managed to keep the lead until the chequered flag.

Trummer’s podium was his first since International Formula Master in 2009, while Leal’s third place followed his second from the feature race. As a result, he is a surprise second in the standings, ten points behind Palmer.

While the top three held station, there was plenty of movement behind that in the closing stages. Having managed his tyres, Nasr was able to catch the fast-starting Adrian Quaife-Hobbs and pass him for fourth. Palmer’s team-mate Stephane Richelmi also found a way past the Briton before the end to claim fifth.

Mitch Evans salvaged some points from the weekend in seventh with Rene Binder claiming the final point ahead of Arthur Pic. The Campos driver’s promising debut weekend ended on a low point after being hit by Richelmi when trying to pass Quaife-Hobbs, causing him to fall to ninth.

German F3 graduate Artem Markelov impressed with his progress during the race, finishing in tenth.

Stoffel Vandoorne came crashing down to earth following his superb debut win on Saturday, first making contact with Daniel De Jong and then receiving a hit from Markelov during the first lap. Meanwhile, Racing Engineering pair Stefano Coletti and Raffaele Marciello both stalled at the start.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jolyon Palmer DAMS 23 laps in 41:02.48
2 Simon Trummer Rapax +0.809
3 Julian Leal Carlin +1.430
4 Felipe Nasr Carlin +8.719
5 Stephane Richelmi DAMS +16.416
6 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax +17.680
7 Mitch Evans Russian Time +18.012
8 Rene Binder Arden International +19.791
9 Arthur Pic Campos Racing +19.977
10 Artem Markelov Russian Time +20.678
11 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport +21.086
12 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix +21.713
13 Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport +29.171
14 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Trident +33.500
15 Jon Lancaster MP Motorsport +34.017
16 Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing +35.778
17 Nathanael Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus +38.028
18 Andre Negrao Arden International +38.524
19 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing +39.439
20 Facu Regalia Hilmer Motorsport +44.065
21 Axcil Jefferies Trident +48.583
22 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix +49.324
23 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering +1:20.944
24 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering +1 lap
25 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing +1 lap
Not classified
Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus +7 laps
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Jolyon Palmer DAMS 38
2 Julian Leal Carlin 28
3 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 25
4 Simon Trummer Rapax 18
5 Felipe Nasr Carlin 12
6 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 12
7 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 10
8 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 8
9 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 6
10 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 5
11 Rene Binder Arden International 3
12 Mitch Evans Russian Time 2