Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Nyck de Vries cruises to victory in race two of Alps opener

Nyck de Vries cruises to victory in race two of Alps opener

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Koiranen GP’s Nyck de Vries completed a perfect opening weekend in Formula Renault 2.0 Alps with a second lights-to-flag victory in two races.

De Vries got a good start from pole position and kept the lead from fellow front row starter Bruno Bonifacio. The Brazilian the began to drop back over the course of the first lap and then slipped back to third behind Simon Gachet after briefly losing the car on corner exit.

The Dutchman kept increasing his lead with every lap and comfortably set the race pace out in front, soon pulling away by more than five seconds. Behind him, Gachet kept Bonifacio at bay throughout the opening laps, with the Brazilian taking P2 back on lap six.

The race was completed without interruptions and, nearly 28 minutes after the start, de Vries comfortably crossed the finish line in first, with Bonifacio coming to the flag seven and a half seconds later. Gachet slipped back towards Jack Aitken, but held on to third, picking up his second podium of the weekend.

Behind Aitken, Hans Villemi took fifth, with Caterham junior Seb Morris securing sixth place. Andrew Tang ended a fighting race in seventh, narrowly ahead of teammate Dennis Olsen and George Russell, with Tech 1 rookie Anthoine Hubert again rounding out the top ten.

After the Imola opener, de Vries leads the standings, having picked up the maximum available amount of points in 50. With the likes of Bonifacio, Aitken and Villemi entered as wildcards and ineligible for points, second place is occupied by Gachet with 36 points. Russell, Tang and Morris round out the top five with 25, 24 and 23 points respectively.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 16 laps in 27:46.28
2 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +7.615
3 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +12.142
4 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +12.550
5 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +18.256
6 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +23.422
7 Andrew Tang Prema Powerteam +23.830
8 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +23.874
9 George Russell Koiranen GP +24.331
10 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +25.371
11 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport +31.743
12 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +32.211
13 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam +36.973
14 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +40.395
15 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing +45.245
16 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +45.329
17 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports +46.451
18 Dennis Anoschin Jenzer Motorsport +46.644
19 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +49.244
20 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport +49.417
21 Kang Ling Koiranen GP +53.623
22 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +54.094
23 Yuan Bo Jenzer Motorsport +55.731
24 James Allen ARTA Engineering +56.156
25 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +1:05.189
26 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +1:08.240
27 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing +1:09.164
28 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +1:11.432
29 Mikhail Tarasov Koiranen GP +1:40.955
30 Nick Cassidy China BRT by JCS +2 laps
Not classified
Danyil Pronenko AS Motorsport Olimpija +5 laps
Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +6 laps
Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing +9 laps
Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +10 laps
Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +15 laps
Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +15 laps
Matteo Gonfiantini TS Corse +15 laps
Vitaly Larionov Koiranen GP +16 laps
DNS Matteo Cairoli GSK Grand Prix
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 50
2 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 36
3 George Russell Koiranen GP 25
4 Andrew Tang Prema Powerteam 24
5 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports 23
6 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport 18
7 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam 10
8 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport 6
9 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 4
10 Dennis Anoschin Jenzer Motorsport 3
11 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing 2
12 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1