Home Formula 3GB3 O’Sullivan wins British F3 Brands Hatch race two, Simmons out in crash

O’Sullivan wins British F3 Brands Hatch race two, Simmons out in crash

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan took a maiden BRDC British Formula 3 victory after a dramatic opening lap crash involving Ayrton Simmons and Bart Horsten in race two at Brands Hatch.

After finishing third in Saturday’s opener, O’Sullivan benefitted from the incident to control the remainder of the 10-lap encounter, finishing 2.248 seconds clear of Fortec Motorsports’ Ollie Bearman – who repeated his race one result – with Reece Ushijima finishing third for Hitech GP.

The race distance was reduced by two laps after Chris Dittmann Racing’s Alex Fores spun into the barriers on the formation lap, leading to a delayed start.

Horsten made a great launch and moved in between front-row starters Simmons and O’Sullivan when the action got underway.

CDR’s Simmons, winner in race one on Brands’s Grand Prix layout, managed to stay in front exiting Paddock Hill Bend but was forced to defend from Horsten into Druids. As the Hitech driver tried to drive around the outside, the two cars touched, with Simmons briefly launched onto the rear of his rival’s car. Simmons was out on the spot, triggering a safety car period, with Horsten retiring in the pits with damage.

When the action resumed, O’Sullivan gradually inched clear of Bearman to take a comfortable win, with Ushijima taking his third F3 podium, 5.5s behind.

Frederick Lubin was fourth for Arden, again pipping team-mate Alex Connor. Roberto Faria bounced back from a race one incident with Fores to finish sixth for Fortec, just ahead of Elite Motorsport’s Tom Lebbon. Sebastian Alvarez was eighth for Hitech, ahead of Carlin duo Bryce Aron and Christian Mansell.

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 16m56.084s
2 Ollie Bearman Fortec Motorsports +2.248s
3 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +5.546s
4 Frederick Lubin Arden +6.452s
5 Alex Connor Arden +7.703s
6 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +10.470s
7 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +11.156s
8 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +11.557s
9 Bryce Aron Carlin +11.951s
10 Christian Mansell Carlin +12.392s
11 Dexter Patterson Douglas Motorsport +13.367s
12 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +15.668s
13 Max Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing +22.133s
14 Jorge Garfias Elite Motorsport +22.590s
15 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +23.525s
16 Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport +28.451s
Ret Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Bart Horsten Hitech GP
Ret Alex Fores Chris Dittmann Racing
Fastest lap: O’Sullivan, 1m20.808s

Championship standings
1 O’Sullivan 59   2 Bearman 58   3 Ushijima 43   4 Lubin 38   5 Simmons 35   6 Connor 34   7 Lebbon 27   8 Mansell 24   9 Alvarez 23   10 Aron 23