Home News Opmeer takes fifth SMP F4 win, Verschoor his second

Opmeer takes fifth SMP F4 win, Verschoor his second

by Peter Allen

Photo: GEPA pictures/Dutch Photo Agency

Jarno Opmeer?claimed his fifth SMP Formula 4 victory in the second race of the weekend at Zandvoort, before?Richard Verschoor ended his drought in the finale.

With the race two grid positions set by the race one result, Opmeer led from start to finish ahead of?Roope Markkanen, who shot from to second at the start in front of Verschoor.

Opmeer’s winning margin was only nine tenths over Finland’s Markkanen,?while Verschoor gave up the final podium place to Alexander Vartanyan when he ran wide into the gravel trying to pass the Finn around the outside.

Xavier Lloveras took fifth in front of Finns?Rasmus Markkanen,?Juho Valtanen and?Tuomas Tujula.

Starting from pole for the fourth time since his one previous victory in his single-seater debut at Sochi, Verschoor this time made a good start and led throughout, even though he twice had two-second margins eradicated by a safety car.

Vartanyan beat Opmeer into second place at the start while Valtanen took fourth ahead of the squabbling Markkanen twins, with Rasmus eventually beating Roope.

Behind them Tujula and?Artem Petrov?crashed heavily to trigger the second safety car, promoting Lloveras and?Roman Lebedev.