Home Featured Olli Caldwell wins first Italian F4 race at Paul Ricard, Fittipaldi and Lorandi collide

Olli Caldwell wins first Italian F4 race at Paul Ricard, Fittipaldi and Lorandi collide

by Bethonie Waring

Olli Caldwell claimed his first Italian Formula 4 win in the opening race at Paul Ricard, as championship leaders Enzo Fittipaldi and Leonardo Lorandi collided on the opening lap.

Fittipaldi collected Lorandi at the first corner as he battled with his car after his rear wing was dislodged by contact with another driver. Both were sent into the run off area as the rest of the field passed, before making it to the pits to retire.

Caldwell managed to avoid the drama, starting third but jumping into the lead off the line.

Poleman Fedrick Vesti was forced to defend from Jack Doohan and Gianluca Petecof in the opening stages of the race, allowing Caldwell to build a gap to the rest of the field. Caldwell managed to extend the gap to almost six seconds, but Vesti began to catch him late in the race.

He ran out of time before he could considerably close the gap to Calwell, finishing 5.076s behind the Brit.

Caldwell moves up to third in the championship standings, 14 points behind Lorandi.

Petr Ptacek managed to find a way past Doohan and Petecof to move into the final podium position, but came under pressure from Toby Sowery in the closing stages of the race. The pair ran side by side for a number of corners before Sowery managed to take the insdie line at the final corner and moved into third. Ptacek remained close behind, but couldn?t take the position back.

Doohan and Petecof collided as they battled for what was fourth. Petecof tried to move up the inside of his team-mate at Turn 5 and hit Doohan. Both dropped down the order, with Doohan forced to retire in the pits a handful of laps later. Petecof continued, and was classified 13th after receiving a 10 second penalty for his part in the incident.

Ian Rodriguez spent the second half of the race with Federico Malvestiti and Javier Gonzalez on his tail. Malvestiti passed Rodriguez late in the race to take fifth, finishing four seconds ahead of the Guatemalan and five seconds ahead of Gonzalez.


Race one results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Olli Caldwell Prema 31m35.873s
2 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing +4.835s
3 Toby Sowery KDC Racing +10.632s
4 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +11.975s
5 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +14.461s
6 Ian Rodriguez DRZ Benelli +18.906s
7 Javier Gonzalez Jenzer Motorsport +19.555s
8 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +20.455s
9 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +22.320s
10 Charles Weerts Van Amersfoort Racing +22.897s
11 Ilya Morozov KDC Racing +24.190s
12 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +28.508s
13 Gianluca Petecof Prema +30.252s
14 Oliver Ramussen Jenzer Motorsport +31.668s
15 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +32.436s
16 Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport +40.650s
17 Anthony Famularo Bhaitech +42.478s
18 Lucas Alecco Van Amersfoort Racing +43.946s
19 Gastone Sampieri BVM Racing +44.288s
20 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +46.661s
21 Andrea Del’Accio Cram Motorsport +47.087s
22 Lazio Toth DR Formula +58.215s
23 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +58.753s
24 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +1m12.939s
25 Axel Gnos AS Motorsport +1m32.751s
26 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +1m32.866s
27 Alessio Deledda Technorace +1m45.193s
28 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +1m51.242s
Ret Jack Doohan Prema
Ret Aaron Di Comberti KDC Racing
Ret Enzo Fittipaldi Prema
Ret Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech
Pole: Vesti, 2m05.914s? ? ??Fastest Lap: Vesti, 2m05.717s

Championship Standings
Fittipaldi 65? ?2 Lorandi 61? ?3?Caldwell 47? ?4?Sowery 39???5 Petecof 34? ?6?Malvestiti 33? ?7?Gonzalez 26? ?8 Rodriguez 24? ?9?Saucy 20? ?10?Vesti 18