Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Ocon dominates first qualifying at Moscow Raceway

Ocon dominates first qualifying at Moscow Raceway

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Prema Powerteam’s Esteban Ocon was untouchable in the first qualifying session of the European F3 round at Moscow Raceway as he claimed his 11th pole position of the season.

The Frenchman took over at the top with seven minutes remaining in the session and remained in first until the checkered flag. Ocon’s pole was virtually uncontested by the end as the Lotus junior was three tenths quicker than anyone else in sector one alone.

With Ocon being the only driver to go below 1:27, it was Jordan King who was best of the rest, finishing six tenths down in P2. His teammate Tom Blomqvist finished right behind the Brit and will be joined by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Max Verstappen on row two.

Lucas Auer maintained his form as the best Mucke driver by securing fifth, leading RSF-backed rookie Jake Dennis and Ferrari junior Antonio Fuoco.

Jules Szymkowiak took eighth place, going narrowly quicker than Nicholas Latifi and Felix Serralles.

The session saw a brief last-minute yellow flag due to EuroInternational youngster Santino Ferrucci going off at turn seven.

UPDATE: Jake Dennis had previously been handed a five-place grid penalty for his role in the turn one incident in race three at Norisring. He will start in P11, with Felix Rosenqvist promoted to the top ten.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 1:26.530 8
2 Jordan King Carlin 1:27.149 0.619 10
3 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:27.341 0.811 9
4 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing 1:27.361 0.831 11
5 Lucas Auer kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport 1:27.422 0.892 10
6 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 1:27.516 0.986 10
7 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing 1:27.643 1.113 10
8 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam 1:27.676 1.146 10
9 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec F3 1:27.684 1.154 11
10 Felix Rosenqvist kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport 1:27.724 1.194 10
11* Jake Dennis Carlin 1:27.496 0.966 10
12 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam 1:27.819 1.289 10
13 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing 1:27.929 1.399 10
14 Roy Nissany kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport 1:28.039 1.509 11
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:28.052 1.522 11
16 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing 1:28.253 1.723 10
17 Santino Ferrucci EuroInternational 1:28.498 1.968 9
18 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:28.506 1.976 11
19 Hector Hurst Team West-Tec F3 1:28.791 2.261 10
20 Michele Beretta EuroInternational 1:29.103 2.573 11

* – five-place grid penalty