Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Ocon cruises to sixth win in race one at Moscow Raceway

Ocon cruises to sixth win in race one at Moscow Raceway

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: FIA Formula 3 Championship

Photo: FIA Formula 3 Championship

FIA F3 European Championship points leader Esteban Ocon drove a faultless race one of the series’ seventh round at Moscow Raceway to pick up his sixth win of the season.

The Frenchman got a good start from pole position and proceeded to confidently manage his advantage over second-placed Jordan King throughout the 24-lap race.

Carlin driver King managed to equal his best result in the series with another P2, having stayed within around two seconds of Ocon for much of the race and ensuring his third consecutive podium finish.

Dutch karting graduate Max Verstappen managed to overtake fellow row two starter Tom Blomqvist into T13 during the opening lap. The duo ran close together for the rest of the race, with the Dutchman even closing in on King in the second half – but there were no further changes among them, as Verstappen rounded out the podium and Blomqvist settled for fourth.

Lucas Auer and Antonio Fuoco finished where they started, taking fifth and sixth respectively. Nicholas Latifi held off Felix Rosenqvist to take seventh, while Felix Serralles and Gustavo Menezes rounded out the points, having made their way past impressive rookie Jules Szymkowiak.

Briton Jake Dennis ran in the top ten in the early stages of the race, but was among the few drivers to incur a drive-through penalty for track limits infringements.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 14 laps in 35:47.041
2 Jordan King Carlin +1.536
3 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing +2.074
4 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +3.645
5 Lucas Auer kfzteile24 M?cke Motorsport +7.254
6 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +11.289
7 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam +19.679
8 Felix Rosenqvist kfzteile24 M?cke Motorsport +20.711
9 Felix Serralles Team West-TecF3 +27.745
10 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +28.561
11 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing +31.166
12 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam +31.736
13 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +33.429
14 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing +38.446
15 Jake Dennis Carlin +46.714
16 Santino Ferrucci Eurointernational +53.334
17 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +55.001
18 Roy Nissany kfzteile24 M?cke Motorsport +1:01.097
19 Hector Hurst Team West-TecF3 +1:12.677
20 Michele Beretta Eurointernational +1:24.927