Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Nyck de Vries extends Eurocup lead with race one win at Nurburgring

Nyck de Vries extends Eurocup lead with race one win at Nurburgring

by Ant Musker
Nyck de Vries

Photo: Jean Michel Le Meur/DPPI

McLaren young driver Nyck de Vries stretched his lead at the top of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 standings to 40 points with a dominant win from second on the grid in a wet first race at the Nurburgring.

The Dutchman made the better start and was able to get himself ahead of pole-sitter Alexander Albon before pulling away from the KTR man who had little response.

Albon was able to come home second ahead of Jack Aitken, the rookie who secured his first podium in this series.

The battle for fourth place was intriguing as Dennis Olsen came through from 12th place on the grid to claim it. The rookie drove an excellent race, with the Norwegian’s final move being a late pass on Charles Leclerc, who had to settle for fifth.

Ignazio D?Agosto crossed the line in sixth place after getting past Andrea Pizzitola, who gradually slipped back during the race having started on the second row.

He didn’t drop as drastically as Nick Cassidy though, who could not take advantage of his third place qualification. The New Zealander ended up eighth, as Victor Franzoni (who started in 23rd) and Kevin Jorg rounded off the top ten.

There were no points for Matt Parry and Levin Amweg after the pair sacrificed their top ten positions in a collision.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP 13 laps in 28:36.897
2 Alexander Albon KTR +7.532
3 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +21.715
4 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +27.575
5 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +28.258
6 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +30.484
7 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +31.523
8 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP +31.793
9 Victor Franzoni China BRT by JCS +39.596
10 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +45.706
11 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +46.552
12 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +47.521
13 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +48.679
14 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +49.566
15 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +51.899
16 Gregor Ramsay KTR +52.284
17 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +52.754
18 Josef Zaruba China BRT by JCS +59.113
19 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +59.593
20 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +59.926
21 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +1:02.549
22 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +1:05.143
23 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +1:07.202
24 Louis Del?traz Josef Kaufmann Racing +1:14.694
25 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +1:15.755
26 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +1:15.910
27 James Allen KTR +1:18.430
28 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +1:46.897
29 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
Not classified
Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +5 laps
Vasiliy Romanov Tech 1 Racing +6 laps