Home Formula 4British F4 Lando Norris scores double MSA Formula pole at Croft

Lando Norris scores double MSA Formula pole at Croft

by Gruz David
Lando Norris

Photo: Paul Davies Photography

Lando Norris repeated his performance from the previous round to collect two further MSA Formula pole positions at Croft.

Norris took the lead with about six minutes left on the clock and a lack of improvements afterwards allowed him to stay first until the checkered flag.

Daniel Ticktum will join him on the front row of race one as he was less than a tenth behind the Carlin driver.

Despite topping the timesheets at halfway point, Ricky Collard was demoted to third later on as the top five was completed by the Carlin duo of Petru Florescu and Colton Herta.

However, a five-place grid penalty for the American for contact in the last race will relegate him to tenth on the grid.

As such, JHR’s Sennan Fielding inherits fifth, followed by Louise Richardson and Matheus Leist.

Indian Tarun Reddy and Scot Sandy Mitchell rounded out the top ten drivers and will start the first race from eighth and ninth respectively.

The order for race three determined by the second best times sees an identical top three – Norris, Ticktum and Collard. Herta and Florescu switched places and this time the American can keep his position.

The rest of the top ten is Fielding, Leist, Richardson, Mitchell and Leist.

Qualifying results
Race one grid – best times Race three grid – 2nd best times
Pos. Driver Team Time Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Lando Norris Carlin 1:21.369 1 Lando Norris Carlin 1:21.454
2 Dan Ticktum Fortec Motorsport 1:21.463 2 Dan Ticktum Fortec Motorsport 1:21.576
3 Ricky Collard Arden 1:21.569 3 Ricky Collard Arden 1:21.854
4 Petru Florescu Carlin 1:21.835 4 Colton Herta Carlin 1:22.002
5 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments 1:21.960 5 Petru Florescu Carlin 1:22.059
6 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing 1:22.088 6 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments 1:22.068
7 Matheus Leist Double R 1:22.129 7 Matheus Leist Double R 1:22.219
8 Tarun Reddy Double R 1:22.233 8 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing 1:22.333
9 Sandy Mitchell Arden 1:22.234 9 Sandy Mitchell Arden 1:22.385
10 Colton Herta* Carlin 1:21.912 10 Tarun Reddy Double R 1:22.402
11 Josh Smith Fortec Motorsport 1:22.276 11 Daniel Baybutt JTR 1:22.430
12 Daniel Baybutt JTR 1:22.299 12 Rafa Martins SWB Motorsport 1:22.456
13 Rafa Martins SWB Motorsport 1:22.312 13 Josh Smith Fortec Motorsport 1:22.615
14 James Pull JTR 1:22.371 14 Enaam Ahmed Arden 1:22.671
15 Enaam Ahmed Arden 1:22.413 15 James Pull JTR 1:22.725
16 Ameya Vaidyanathan JTR 1:22.756 16 Jack Butel SWB Motorsport 1:23.131
17 Jack Butel SWB Motorsport 1:30.019 17 Ameya Vaidyanathan JTR 1:23.176
18 Jessica Hawkins Falcon Motorsport 1:23.158 18 Jessica Hawkins Falcon Motorsport 1:23.213
19 Darius Karbaley Falcon Motorsport 1:23.236 19 Ollie Pidgley Richardson Racing 1:23.493
20 Ollie Pidgley Richardson Racing 1:23.473 20 Darius Karbaley Falcon Motorsport 1:23.660