Home Formula FordFFord Festival Two-time FFord Festival winner Niall Murray dominates third heat

Two-time FFord Festival winner Niall Murray dominates third heat

by Formula Scout

Niall Murray took a thumping victory in the soaking wet third heat of the Formula Ford Festival, winning by eight seconds.

The Team Dolan driver made a stunning star which took him from fourth to first on the opening lap, and was untouchable. thereon.

Souley Motorsport’s Ollie White eventually came home second after an intense and robust battle with front row starter Peter Dempsey, with both drivers on the edge of adhesion.

Despite being passed by Murray, Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Dempsey was able to pass poleman and relation Jordan Dempsey on the first lap and had to battle with Team USA scholar Scott Huffaker to keep hold of second place at the beginning of the race.

CDR’s Huffaker would later drop off but White was able to take his place and eventually pass Peter Dempsey on lap 8.

Rory Smith also took advantage of the conditions for B-M Racing and passed both Peter and Kevin Mills Racing’s Jordan Dempsey to claim the final podium position.

Jordan won the intra-Dempsey battle for fourth, with Murray’s team-mate Morgan Quinn coming home a lonely sixth ahead of Huffaker. B-M’s Tom McArther finished in eighth, ahead of the battling Northern Irish FF1600 regulars Noel Robinson and Ryan Campbell.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Niall Murray Team Dolan 15m48.062s
2 Ollie White Souley Motorsport +8.054s
3 Rory Smith B-M Racing +9.441s
4 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing +9.788s
5 Peter Dempsey Cliff Dempsey Racing +13.306s
6 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +19.890s
7 Scott Huffaker B-M Racing +22.439s
8 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +24.446s
9 Noel Robinson +45.638s
10 Ryan Campbell +45.924s
11 Jack Kemp Enigma Motorsport +47.768s
12 Colm Blackburn Motorsport Car Preparation +49.223s
13 Rick Morris Don Hardman Racing +50.318s
14 Simon Hadfield Simon Hadfield Motorsport +1m00.136s
15 Dan Rene Larson +1m02.950s
16 Richard Davison Souley Motorsport +1m01.142s
17 Jason Down Getem Racing +1 lap
18 Oliver Chapman OCI +1 lap
19 Trevor Delaney Del.t.a Race +1 lap
20 Ian Jeary +2 laps
21 Philip Attwood +2 laps
22 Terry Walkinshaw +4 laps
Ret Tom Cloet John’s Racing Team
Fastest lap: Murray, 1m02.019s