Home Formula FordFFord Festival Browne holds off Middlehurst and Eastwell in second Festival heat

Browne holds off Middlehurst and Eastwell in second Festival heat

by Formula Scout

Photo: Wayne Pearson

Jonathan Browne led the full duration of the second Formula Ford Festival heat, resisting the close attentions of Chris Middleshurst and Michael Eastwell.

Cliff Dempsey Racing driver Browne held off Kevin Mills Racing’s Eastwell in the first part of the race, after a strong start by the latter vaulted him immediately from fourth to second.

Middlehurst edged in on the leading pair, and at half distance Eastwell tried to dive down the inside of Browne to take the lead, but he ran wide on the exit which let both Browne re-pass and Team Dolan’s Middlehurst deprive Eastwell of second.

The trio continued in their new order until the end, moving through lapped traffiv in close company.

“I won’t be happy until tomorrow evening, if I win,” Browne said. “We’ve got to keep our heads down. The guys behind were quick.”

Swift Cooper’s Luke Cooper was fourth, 20 seconds off the leading trio, and just held off Middlehurst’s BRSCC National FF1600 title winning team-mate Ross Martin.

Martin had an eventful run, starting third but dropping to sixth with a poor start. He recovered to fourth and had the leading trio in sight before losing two places and a lot of time running through the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend.

B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp also had a dramatic race on the way to sixth. He tangled with Team DDR’s Ivor McCullough at Druids on lap two, then matched the leaders on pace as he rose back up the order.

McCullough’s Northern Irish FF1600 rival Alan Davidson finished seventh in his Mondiale M89S despite his own off-track excursion. He understeered off at Graham Hill Bend early on, and won the Classic class by 0.8s from Matt Rivett.

After the tangle, McCullough recovered to finish ninth, just ahead of Team Canada scholar Zachary Vanier.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing 15m41.526s
2 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +0.502s
3 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing +1.237s
4 Luke Cooper Swift Cooper +20.249s
5 Ross Martin Team Dolan +20.373s
6 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +21.774s
7 Alan Davidson Harris Racing +22.163s
8 Matthew Rivett +22.965s
9 Ivor McCullough Team DDR +30.357s
10 Zachary Vanier Cliff Dempsey Racing +31.517s
11 Kenny Cowie Rotor Racing +35.701s
12 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +37.406s
13 Bryce Aron Oldfield Motorsport +40.981s
14 Peter Hardman Snetterton Speedshop +46.678s
15 James Hadfield B-M Racing +49.712s
16 Steve Barlow Graham Brunton Racing +51.151s
17 Andrew Blair +53.188s
18 Mark Armstrong ferret +54.875s
19 Stuart Kestenbaum Don Hardman Racing +1 lap
20 Henry Campbell +1 lap
21 Joe Walton Souley Motorsport +1 lap
22 Laurie Hughes +1 lap
23 Chris Stuart +1 lap
24 John Whitbourn +2 laps
Fastest lap: Middlehurst, 1m01.701s