Home Formula FordFFord Festival Andrew Blair wins FFord Festival Heat Last Chance race in dark

Andrew Blair wins FFord Festival Heat Last Chance race in dark

by Craig Woollard

Andrew Blair won the Formula Ford Festival Heat Last Chance race to get into the semi-finals as darkness descended on Brands Hatch.

Pole starter Blair lost the lead to Jason Down at the start as the field went four-wide, but by lap two of 12 he had found his way back into first place. A move around the outside of Paddock Hill Bend as the light and conditions deteriorated regained him the position.

From there, Blair was able to pull away and secure a comfortable lead, crossing the finish line 8.598 seconds ahead of the chasing pack.

Down battled with Stephen Mawhinney for much of the race, but the pair came to grief at Clearways on the penultimate lap.

They both had separate incidents simultaneously, not surprising given the lack of visibility, and this allowed Mark Armstrong – run by Michael Moyers’ dad – to steal second place from the pair after watching for several laps from behind.

Mawhinney rounded out the podium ahead of Down. Behind them was Team Canada scholar Jonathan Woolridge, who fought from the ninth row up to fifth despite his inexperience.

The remaining finishers in the top 12 will all progress into tomorrow’s semi-finals: Oliver Chapman, Stuart Kestenbaum, Tom Cloet, Henry Campbell, Laurie Hughes, Andrew Pryke (who charged from the penultimate row), and Joe Walton.

Simon Pruce and Jordan Harrison failed to start the race.


Race results (12 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Andrew Blair 13m20.796s
2 Mark Armstrong ferret +8.598s
3 Stephen Mawhinney +9.142s
4 Jason Down Getem Racing +14.115s
5 Jonathan Woolridge Cliff Dempsey Racing +14.297s
6 Oliver Chapman OCI +15.668s
7 Stuart Kestenbaum Don Hardman Racing +26.605s
8 Tom Cloet John’s Racing Team +26.926s
9 Henry Campbell +33.275s
10 Laurie Hughes +40.582s
11 Andrew Pryke +49.427s
12 Joe Walton Souley Motorsport +56.011s
13 Matthew Skelton +1m04.302s
14 Chris Stuart +1m08.468s
15 Trevor Delaney Del.t.a Race +1 lap
16 John Whitbourn +1 lap
17 Terry Walkinshaw +1 lap
18 Philip Attwood +1 lap
19 Ian Jeary +1 lap
Fastest lap: Blair, 1m05.371s