Home Formula 4British F4 Neate leads Dunne at Croft in British F4 practice

Neate leads Dunne at Croft in British F4 practice

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Argenti Motorsport’s Aiden Neate set the pace in British Formula 4 free practice at Croft.

Neate managed the fastest time of the day in the second session at the Yorkshire circuit. His 1m17.246s time was 0.161 seconds quicker than that managed by second-placed Alex Dunne and 0.245s quicker than the fastest time of FP1, set by Carlin’s Ugo Ugochukwu.

In FP1 it was Neate who set the pace early on before an incident for Daniel Mavlyutov brought out the red flags.

After the session resumed, the quickest time was gradually brought down. Louis Sharp briefly topped the order before team-mate Ugochukwu went just over a tenth of a second quicker. Ugochukwu improved again to end the morning on a 1m17.491s.

FP2 was also disrupted by an early red flag, brought out just five minutes into the session after an incident for Sharp.

Daniel Guinchard was top of the order at this point, having just knocked Ugochukwu off the top spot, but his laptime wasn’t quicker than the latter’s FP1 benchmark.

As in FP1, the times tumbled once green flag running resumed. Guinchard gradually improved his pace but it was Neate who was the first back in the 1m17s range. He managed a 1m17.837s, which was beaten a few minutes later by Ugochukwu.

Neate continued to find improvements and set a 1m17.246s in the closing stages to end the day on top.

Dunne went second quickest ahead of Ollie Gray. Ugochukwu’s FP1 time made him fourth quickest overall, with Guinchard, Eduardo Coseteng and Sharp all setting their best times in the earlier session too.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 1m17.246s 28
2 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m17.407s +0.161s 33
3 Ollie Gray Carlin 1m17.463s +0.217s 29
4 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin 1m17.491s +0.245s 31
5 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport 1m17.504s +0.258s 26
6 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP 1m17.676s +0.430s 33
7 Louis Sharp Carlin 1m17.766s +0.520s 20
8 Oliver Stewart Hitech GP 1m17.839s +0.593s 34
9 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport 1m17.865s +0.619s 31
10 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m18.046s +0.800s 34
11 Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments 1m18.056s +0.810s 35
12 Noah Lisle JHR Developments 1m18.147s +0.901s 29
13 Michael Shin Virtuosi 1m18.758s +1.512s 35
14 Joel Pearson Chris Dittmann Racing 1m18.790s +1.544s 35
15 Edward Pearson Virtuosi 1m18.842s +1.596s 37
16 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP 1m21.617s +4.371s 28