Home Formula FordNational FF1600 National FF1600 title fight hots up as Walker dominates at Brands Hatch

National FF1600 title fight hots up as Walker dominates at Brands Hatch

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jim Moir

Alex Walker put in a dominant display to take his second BRSCC Formula Ford 1600 victory of the weekend on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit.

Walker took the win by 8.2 seconds from Kevin Mills Racing team-mate Thomas Mills, who put in a superb race-long defence of second place.

The top six positions from race two were reversed in forming the grid, with Oldfield Motorsport’s Lukas Romanek starting at the front before losing out to Mills and Walker off the line after missing a gear.

Mills conceded the lead to Walker as the cars negotiated Graham Hill Bend for the first time, as Middlehurst and Sharp moved into third and fourth past Romanek.

Walker then pulled out a huge lead as team-mate Mills fended off a train of cars behind.

Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst tried to pass Mills on the outside of Paddock Hill Bend several times, but eventually ran wide and lost out to B-M Racing’s Rory Smith at Druids.

Middlehurst soon regained third, while Smith was also passed by team-mate Jamie Sharp exiting Paddock Hill.

Mills resisted a renewed charge from Middlehurst at the chequered flag by 0.2s, with Sharp beating Smith to fifth by a similar margin.

After spinning out of race two, Low Dempsey Racing’s Max Esterson climbed from 15th on the grid to join the battle, but had to settle for sixth. He’s now lost the title lead to Walker by one point.

Esterson’s team-mate Colin Queen passed KMR’s Megan Gilkes, who ran sixth early on, in the closing stages at Clearways to take seventh.

Joey Foster, another retiree in Sunday’s earlier encounter, came from the back of the grid to finish ninth for Don Hardman Racing ahead of Romanek.

Race results (18 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Walker Kevin Mills Racing 15m24.642s
2 Thomas Mills Kevin Mills Racing +8.278s
3 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +8.429s
4 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +8.611s
5 Rory Smith B-M Racing +8.845s
6 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing +9.002s
7 Colin Queen Low Dempsey Racing +9.415s
8 Megan Gilkes Kevin Mills Racing +14.196s
9 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +14.197s
10 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +20.585s
11 Benjamin Cochran Team Dolan +26.900s
12 James Tucker Tucker Motorsport +27.310s
13 Andre Lafond Low Dempsey Racing +29.302s
14 Ben Tinkler +31.658s
15 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +1 lap
16 Terry Walkingshaw +2 laps
Ret Noel Robinson
DNS Carter Williams Oldfield Motorsport
Fastest lap: Esterson, 50.487s

Championship standings
1 Walker 342   2 Esterson 341   3 Middlehurst 318   4 Sharp 285   5 Smith 227   6 Mills 188   7 Romanek 176   8 Queen 161   9 Gilkes 138   10 Williams 125