Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Nandy claims Macau Formula Masters China pole in KCMG 1-2

Nandy claims Macau Formula Masters China pole in KCMG 1-2

by Peter Allen
Akash Nandy

Photo: CGPM

Akash Nandy secured pole position for the non-championship Formula Masters China race in Macau, with Dan Wells taking second to lock out the front row for the KCMG squad.

The category is one of several racing around the Asian city streets the weekend before the main Macau Grand Prix as part of the event’s 60th anniversary celebrations.

Wells led much of the session but was denied top spot by 16-year-old Nandy just before the session was ended early by a red flag, with the Malaysian finishing up nine tenths of a second clear of the Briton.

Hong Kong driver and Protyre Formula Renault racer Shaun Thong qualified third on his category debut with Eurasia Motorsport. MRF Challenge regular Yudai Jinkawa took fourth ahead of fellow Japanese driver Ren Nagabuchi.

Tanart Sathienthirakul, who won during the regular season finale at Shanghai a fortnight ago, will line up sixth on the grid ahead of Eurasia team-mates Matthew Solomon and Macanese driver Andy Chang Wing Chung.

Chinese drivers Yin Hai Tao and Pu Jun Jin completed the top ten.

2013 series champion Aidan Wright had topped the free practice session by a second over the KCMG pair, but crashed in qualifying without setting a time and will have to start Sunday’s race from 16th and last.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver? Team Time Gap Laps
1 Akash Nandy Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG 2:28.034   7
2 Dan Wells Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG 2:28.957 0.923 6
3 Shaun Thong Eurasia Motorsport 2:29.680 1.646 7
4 Yudai Jinkawa Gold Wolf Racing 2:29.795 1.761 7
5 Ren Nagabuchi Super License 2:30.690 2.656 7
6 Tanart Sathienthirakul Eurasia Motorsport 2:30.762 2.728 7
7 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport 2:32.056 4.022 4
8 Chang Wing Chung Eurasia Motorsport 2:32.075 4.041 4
9 Yin Hai Tao Super License 2:33.123 5.089 3
10 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport 2:33.419 5.385 4
11 Yuan Bo Star Racing Team 2:35.855 7.821 7
12 Bao Jin Long Star Racing 2:37.954 9.920 7
13 William Lok Super License 2:38.117 10.083 7
14 Thomas Luedi Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG 2:45.085 17.051 7
15 Yang Fan Meritus GP 2:48.030 19.996 6
  Aidan Wright Meritus GP No time