Home Formula 4British F4 MSA Formula leader Norris claims double pole at finale

MSA Formula leader Norris claims double pole at finale

by Peter Allen
Lando Norris

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

MSA Formula championship leader Lando Norris has claimed a pair of pole positions at the final round of the season at Brands Hatch.

In addition to grabbing a place at the front of the grid for the weekend’s two main races, the Carlin driver has also gained five points to extend his lead over rival Ricky Collard to 18.

The session was twice interrupted by red flags but Norris was the driver to beat after the final restart with a few minutes left on the clock, setting a 1m25.848s on his final lap to top the times.

He’d also led the way on the penultimate group of laps with a 1m26.154s giving him pole for the final race of the season based on second-quickest times.

His team-mate Colton Herta led the way during the second stoppage – caused by second-fastest man at the time Matheus Leist – and wound up second, 0.438s slower than Norris after backing off on his final lap.

His previous benchmark still ended up as the second-best of the second-best times, to complete a Carlin front row lockout for the two main races.

Collard was fourth fastest overall, missing out on third to Sennan Fielding by 0.01s with both over eight tenths down on the pace of Norris.

Collard drops to sixth on second-fastest times behind his Arden team-mate Enaam Ahmed, who arrived at Brands Hatch off the back of a treble win in SMP F4 last weekend, and Toby Sowery.

Ahmed could claim the rookie title this weekend if he can overhaul Dan Ticktum, who is absent after having had his licence suspended for an incident at Silverstone.

Ahmed and Sowery took the fifth and sixth fastest times respectively ahead of James Pull, with Leist finishing up in eighth ahead of Petru Florescu and Rafa Martins.

Sowery must take a five-place grid drop in race one for the collision that took Norris out of the lead of the final race at Silverstone.

The three spots behind Pull will be filled by three entirely different drivers in race three, with Dan Baybutt eighth, Sandy Mitchell ninth and Josh Smith 10th.

Race one grid ? fastest times ? Race three grid ? second fastest times
Pos Driver Team Time Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lando Norris Carlin 1:25.848 1 Lando Norris Carlin 1:26.154
2 Colton Herta Carlin 1:26.286 2 Colton Herta Carlin 1:26.552
3 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments 1:26.689 3 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments 1:26.831
4 Ricky Collard Arden 1:26.699 4 Enaam Ahmed Arden 1:26.862
5 Enaam Ahmed Arden 1:26.708 5 Toby Sowery MBM Motorsport 1:26.948
6 James Pull Fortec Motorsports 1:26.918 6 Ricky Collard Arden 1:27.021
7 Matheus Leist Double R Racing 1:27.060 7 James Pull Fortec Motorsports 1:27.423
8 Petru Florescu Carlin 1:27.191 8 Daniel Baybutt JTR 1:27.594
9 Rafa Martins SWB Motorsport 1:27.280 9 Sandy Mitchell Arden 1:27.626
10 Sandy Mitchell Arden 1:27.369 10 Josh Smith Fortec Motorsports 1:27.676
11 Toby Sowery MBM Motorsport 1:26.864 11 Petru Florescu Carlin 1:27.802
12 Daniel Baybutt JTR 1:27.430 12 Tarun Reddy Double R Racing 1:27.991
13 Josh Smith Fortec Motorsports 1:27.467 13 Rafa Martins SWB Motorsport 1:28.032
14 Tarun Reddy Double R Racing 1:27.591 14 Matheus Leist Double R Racing 1:28.379
15 Ameya Vaidyanathan JTR 1:28.626 15 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing 1:28.735
16 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing 1:28.732 16 Ameya Vaidyanathan JTR 1:29.397
17 Jack Butel JHR Developments 1:29.822 17 Jack Butel JHR Developments 1:30.891
18 Greg Holloway Richardson Racing 1:33.230 18 Greg Holloway Richardson Racing 1:33.303
19 Darius Karbaley Falcon Motorsport 1:35.297 19 Darius Karbaley Falcon Motorsport 1:58.687