Home News MP Motorsport fastest in practice for Spanish F4’s Spa season opener

MP Motorsport fastest in practice for Spanish F4’s Spa season opener

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Georg Kelstrup led an MP Motorsport one-two in free practice for the first round of the Spanish Formula 4 season at Spa-Francorchamps.

The series is racing in Belgium for the first time this weekend, with teams having visited Spa twice pre-season to learn the circuit in snow-hit tests.

Thursday’s practice was hit by rain in the afternoon, leaving only one session with a representative pace and topped by Kelstrup.

The Danish karting graduate was fastest by 0.133 seconds over team-mate Dilano Van’t Hoff in the morning, with a margin of over half a second back to Praga F4’s Quique Bordas in third place.

The top 11 were covered by a second, but at the back of the 28-car field rookies Emely de Heus (MP) and Lola Lovinfosse (Drivex School) were way off the pace and Lovinfosse was over seven seconds slower than Kelstrup.

In the rain of the afternoon there was an even wider spread, as Jenzer Motorsport’s pacesetter Santiago Ramos was a second clear of Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti in second place but with a lap that was over 10s slower than the morning’s benchmark.

Lovinfosse was 17.721s slower than Ramos, while MP’s Santiago Trisini was 17th fastest and 7.270s off the pace. However the American karting graduate missed the morning’s running, meaning he ended the day 18s back from the overall pace.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 George Kelstrup MP Motorsport 2m24.205s 21
2 Dilano Van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 2m24.338s +0.133s 21
3 Quique Bordas Praga F4 2m24.802s +0.597s 26
4 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 2m24.859s +0.654s 22
5 Manuel Esperito Santo MP Motorsport 2m24.912s +0.707s 21
6 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 2m24.941s +0.736s 22
7 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 2m24.956s +0.751s 21
8 Daniel Macia Praga F4 2m24.962s +0.757s 27
9 Alex Garcia Campos Racing 2m24.986s +0.781s 19
10 Rik Koen MP Motorsport 2m25.133s +0.928s 22
11 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport 2m25.149s +0.944s 22
12 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport 2m25.268s +1.063s 25
13 Gil Molina MP Motorsport 2m25.318s +1.113s 23
14 Alex Dunne Pinnacle Motorsport 2m25.461s +1.256s 25
15 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 2m25.471s +1.266s 21
16 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 2m25.587s +1.382s 25
17 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing 2m25.750s +1.545s 24
18 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport 2m25.973s +1.768s 25
19 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School 2m26.109s +1.904s 23
20 Jorge Garcicarce Jenzer Motorsport 2m26.466s +2.261s 24
21 Vladislav Ryabov Global Racing Service 2m26.497s +2.292s 27
22 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 2m26.631s +2.426s 23
23 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School 2m27.121s +2.916s 23
24 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing 2m27.144s +2.939s 24
25 Noam Abramczyck Drivex School 2m27.429s +3.224s 25
26 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport 2m28.280s +4.075s 21
27 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School 2m31.401s +7.196s 24
28 Santiago Trisini MP Motorsport 2m42.294s +18.089s 10