Home Formula 3Euroformula Monger on EF Open pole after Barcelona rain cancels qualifying

Monger on EF Open pole after Barcelona rain cancels qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Billy Monger will start the first Euroformula Open race at Barcelona on pole after heavy rain cancelled qualifying.

Worsening conditions led to the session that sets the grid for race one being delayed for 15 minutes and then cancelled entirely, with Article 13.1 of the championship’s sporting regulations being used to set the grid.

This takes the best times from the two free practice sessions, leaving FP1 pacesetter Monger on pole.

“Getting pole because qualifying is cancelled feels a bit weird, but our pace has been strong all weekend,” said Monger.

“The car is quick, I’ve been doing a good job so I’m looking forward to the race later today.”

Monger’s Carlin team-mate Nicolai Kjaergaard was fastest in the second practice session, 0.024 seconds slower than Monger’s Friday morning benchmark and ensuring Carlin filled the front row.

Double R Racing’s Linus Lundqvist, a further 0.065s behind, will line up third alongside title contender Lukas Dunner of Teo Martin Motorsport. Filling the third row are Carlin duo Christian Hahn and Ido Cohen, the latter making his Formula 3 debut.

Jack Doohan will start the second Double R car in seventh, ahead of Motopark trio Liam Lawson, Yuki Tsunoda and Niklas Krutten.

The unexpectedly poor free practice pace by the German team is even more evident in that its lead driver Marino Sato will be attempting to wrap up the EF Open title from 12th on the grid.

Only 15 cars will start the race, with 14th fastest man Manuel Maldonado electing to pull out of driving duties after feeling unwell during free practice.

Race 1 grid
1 Billy Monger Carlin 1m36.626s
2 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +0.024s
3 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +0.089s
4 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +0.134s
5 Christian Hahn Carlin +0.414s
6 Ido Cohen Carlin +0.574s
7 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +0.614s
8 Liam Lawson Motopark +0.645s
9 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +0.723s
10 Niklas Krutten Motopark +0.753s
11 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.769s
12 Marino Sato Motopark +0.873s
13 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +0.886s
14 Rui Andrade Drivex School +1.280s
15 Cameron Das Motopark +1.383s