Home Featured Mick Schumacher tops practice for European F3 opener in Pau

Mick Schumacher tops practice for European F3 opener in Pau

by Peter Allen

Mick Schumacher

Mick Schumacher lapped quickest in practice for the first round of the Formula 3 European Championship on the streets of Pau.

The Prema was fifth in the first of the two 40-minute sessions before topping the quicker second session with a lap of 1m09.970s with seven minutes left on the clock.

Red Bull Junior Dan Ticktum was second-quickest in both sessions, 0.128s behind Ferdinand Habsburg in the first segment and 0.236s adrift of Schumacher in the second.

There were four Prema drivers in the top five in the second session and overall, with Guan Yu Zhou third ahead of Robert Shwartzman and Ralf Aron. Shwartzman had been third in the first session, followed by Aron and Schumacher.

Just 0.025s behind Aron was fellow Estonian and fastest Pau debutant Juri Vips for Motopark, ahead of Carlin pair Jehan Daruvala and Ferdinand Habsburg.

Two more Pau rookies completed the top 10: Marcus Armstrong was ninth in the fifth and final Prema car with Jonathan Aberdein putting a third Motopark car in the fastest 10.

Both Artem Petrov and Devlin DeFrancesco missed the second session after crashing in the first, while Enaam Ahmed was among those to hit trouble in session two.

Combined times
Pos Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Mick Schumacher Prema Theodore Racing 1:11.233 1:09.970
2 Daniel Ticktum Motopark 1:11.078 1:10.206
3 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Theodore Racing 1:11.514 1:10.324
4 Shvartzman Robert Prema Theodore Racing 1:11.104 1:10.389
5 Ralf Aron Prema Theodore Racing 1:11.149 1:10.416
6 Juri Vips Motopark 1:11.506 1:10.441
7 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1:11.662 1:10.621
8 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 1:10.950 1:10.661
9 Marcus Armstrong Prema Theodore Racing 1:11.426 1:10.773
10 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark 1:11.420 1:10.873
11 Fabio Scherer Motopark 1:12.263 1:10.896
12 Alex Palou Hitech Bullfrog GP 1:12.256 1:10.938
13 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 1:11.415 1:10.947
14 Marino Sato Motopark 1:12.463 1:10.971
15 Ben Hingeley Hitech Bullfrog GP 1:12.074 1:11.156
16 Enaam Ahmed Hitech Bullfrog GP 1:11.781 1:11.274
17 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 1:12.053 1:11.430
18 Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin 1:11.467 No time
19 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin 1:12.179 1:11.498
20 Julian Hanses ma-con 1:12.994 1:12.256
21 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark 1:12.307 1:12.329
22 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1:14.175 1:12.539
23 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing 1:13.652 No time