Home Featured Mick Schumacher tops European F3 free practice at the Nurburgring

Mick Schumacher tops European F3 free practice at the Nurburgring

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA F3 Europe

Mick Schumacher continued his leading form in European Formula 3 by topping free practice at the Nurburgring.

Prema dominated last time out at Misano, but Schumacher was the only of the team’s five drivers to be on the pace in practice. Robert Shwartzman was the next best, sixth fastest and over a third of a second off the pace, while title contender Marcus Armstrong was 21st after only setting four lap times in the second session.

Championship leader Dan Ticktum was second fastest for Motopark, just over a tenth off Schumacher and the only other driver to break into the 1m20s bracket.

Hitech GP’s Alex Palou showed encouraging pace in third, but had less than half of a tenth covering himself, Motopark’s Jonathan Aberdein, Palou’s team-mate Enaam Ahmed and Shwartzman.

The continued resurgence of Carlin, which is celebrating having achieved 1000 podiums since its creation, was demonstrated by seventh and eighth places for Ferdinand Habsburg and Sacha Fenestraz. Prema’s Guan Yu Zhou and Ralf Aron completed the top 10.

Juri Vips, who is second in the standings to team-mate Ticktum, could only go 12th fastest.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m21.841 1m20.719
2 Dan Ticktum Motopark 1m21.703 1m20.851
3 Alex Palou Hitech GP 1m22.033 1m21.020
4 Jonathan Abderdein Motopark 1m22.156 1m21.024
5 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP 1m21.375 1m21.041
6 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m22.132 1m21.053
7 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 1m21.372 1m21.185
8 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 1m21.262 1m21.201
9 Guan Yu Zhou Prema 1m22.393 1m21.208
10 Ralf Aron Prema 1m22.094 1m21.241
11 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m21.608 1m21.260
12 Juri Vips Motopark 1m21.969 1m21.288
13 Fabio Scherer Motopark 1m22.617 1m21.467
14 Marino Sato Motopark 1m22.308 1m21.541
15 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.163 1m21.753
16 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin 1m21.944 1m21.822
17 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark 1m22.499 1m21.831
18 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.904 1m21.834
19 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP 1m22.382 1m21.887
20 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.132 1m21.929
21 Marcus Armstrong Prema 1m21.998 1m24.959
22 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1m22.631 1m22.273