Home Featured Mick Schumacher sets pace in Formula Regional European test

Mick Schumacher sets pace in Formula Regional European test

by Ida Wood


Mick Schumacher set the pace for Prema on the first day of the Formula Regional European Championship test at Misano.

Prema called upon its Formula 2 and FIA Formula 3 Championship drivers to help them prepare for the upcoming season, with Schumacher’s F2 rival and fellow Ferrari junior Marcus Armstrong also getting some track time with DR Formula.

Schumacher topped the rain-hit morning session by just 0.079 seconds from Armstrong, with the New Zealander striking back in the afternoon be beating Schumacher to top spot by 0.021s.

Logan Sargeant was 0.049s behind in third, in a car he will hand over to FIA F3 team-mate and reigning FREC champion Frederik Vesti tomorrow, with W Series champion and Prema’s new FREC signing Jamie Chadwick showing improved pace less than a second behind in fourth place.

New FREC team Gillian Track Events also made its debut with Gillian Henrion, and Van Amersfoort Racing turned up with Pierre-Louis Chovet.

The Italian Formula 4 test running alongside didn’t have Prema at the top, with the Italian squad testing its drivers elsewhere, and it was Jenzer Motorsport’s Romanian talent Filip Ugran who was fastest in a 20-strong field.

He set his best lap in the morning session, with reigning F4 United Arab Emirates champion and VAR driver Francesco Pizzi his closest rival.

They were separated in the afternoon by Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso, who lapped 0.162s off Ugran with his session-topping afternoon time.

Impressive afternoon times put Bhaitech’s Jesse Salmenautio and DRZ Benelli’s Francesco Simonazzi in fourth and fifth, with Simonazzi setting the most laps of anyone. Nine drivers were within a second of Ugran’s pace.

Several karters made their test debuts, including British talent Ollie Bearman with Mucke Motorsport, and Polish star Mateus Kaprzyk with AS Motorsport.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m31.338s F3R
2 Marcus Armstrong DR Formula 1m31.417s +0.079s F3R
3 Logan Sargeant Prema 1m31.466s +0.128s F3R
4 Jamie Chadwick Prema 1m32.121s +0.783s F3R
5 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m32.484s +1.146s F3R
6 Gillian Henrion Gillian Track Events 1m33.940s +2.602s F3R
7 Pierre-Louis Chovet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.204s +2.866s F3R
1 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.430s F4
2 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m35.592s +0.162s F4
3 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.616s +0.186s F4
4 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m35.676s +0.246s F4
5 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli 1m35.714s +0.284s F4
6 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.977s +0.547s F4
7 Pietro Delli Guanti Technorace 1m35.981s +0.551s F4
8 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m36.056s +0.626s F4
9 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m36.220s +0.790s F4
10 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m36.489s +1.059s F4
11 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m36.527s +1.097s F4
12 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m36.547s +1.117s F4
13 Ollie Bearman Mucke Motorsport 1m36.747s +1.317s F4
14 Francesco Braschi AS Motorsport 1m36.789s +1.359s F4
15 Sebastian Freymuth Cram Motorsport 1m37.378s +1.948s F4
16 Bence Valint Mucke Motorsport 1m37.595s +2.165s F4
17 Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport 1m37.659s +2.229s F4
18 Mateus Kaprzyk AS Motorsport 1m37.963s +2.533s F4
19 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m38.444s +3.014s F4
20 Pietro Negra AKM Motorsport 1m41.106s +5.676s F4