Home Formula 4British F4 Max Marshall wins race two at Rockingham, Kruger retires

Max Marshall wins race two at Rockingham, Kruger retires

by Peter Allen
Max Marshall

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Max Marshall scored his second win of the Formula Ford GB season in race two at Rockingham, while JTR team-mate Jayde Kruger failed to finish and lost the joint points lead.

Ricky Collard led the opening five laps after starting from pole position, but was passed by Marshall on lap six on the inside of the hairpin.

Five laps later, following a safety car period to retrieve the car of Micheal O’Brien from the gravel, Collard was shuffled back to fourth behind Ashley Sutton and Harrison Scott.

Marshall opened up a three-second lead on his way to victory ahead of Sutton, while Scott’s third place put him back ahead of Kruger in the title race.

Kruger was fifth at the end of lap one but then slowed and pitted, reporting an electrical issue. He had drawn level with Scott on points with his win in race one – his third straight victory – but is now 24 adrift with seven races left.

Collard finished fourth ahead of Louise Richardson, while debutant Clay Mitchell nicked sixth from James Abbott on the final lap. Chris Mealin,?Juan Rosso and Greg Holloway completed the ten finishers.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Max Marshall JTR 14 laps in 20:34.894
2 Ashley Sutton MBM Motorsport +3.346
3 Harrison Scott Falcon Motorsport +4.151
4 Ricky Collard Falcon Motorsport +5.418
5 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing +6.695
6 Clay Mitchell JTR +8.292
7 James Abbott Radical Motorsport +9.656
8 Chris Mealin Falcon Motorsport +10.708
9 Juan Rosso Radical Motorsport +11.781
10 Greg Holloway SWB Motorsport +18.839
Not classified
Michael O’Brien MBM Motorsport +9 laps
Jayde Kruger JTR +12 laps