Home Formula 4French F4 Hirsiger doubles up at Magny-Cours

Hirsiger doubles up at Magny-Cours

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Auto Sport Academy

Photo: Auto Sport Academy

Having won his first race in single-seaters yesterday, Felix Hirsiger added a second victory to his tally in the third race of the French F4 Magny-Cours round as he held off a charging Joseph Mawson.

Hirsiger, starting on pole for the second time this weekend, made a solid getaway from the line and managed to keep front row starter Lasse Sorensen behind into turn one. Sorensen was then challenged by Mawson, which allowed the Anglo-Swiss race leader to pull out a solid gap over the opening lap.

Shortly thereafter, Mawson was through on Sorensen, settling into second. Both he and the Dane then began to close in on the leader, slowly evaporating the advantage that he’s built up.

After seven of the 14 laps, the three frontrunners bunched up as close as ever, while also being reeled in by fourth-placed Valentin Hasse-Clot. It was then that Sorensen tried to get the spot back from Mawson, pulling alongside after a sideways moment for the Aussie but eventually yielding as Mawson took the inside line.

The brief fight between his two main chasers gave Hirsiger some breathing room, but Mawson was back up to speed right away and started to cut down on the leader’s advantage. The Australian ended up right on Hirsiger’s tail on the final lap and the two nearly were almost side-by-side into the final chicane.

Whilst Mawson yielded and took the corner slowly, Hirsiger had little choice but to skip through the chicane, which he did, taking the checkered flag right afterwards.

Mawson settled for second, while Sorensen came home in third place. Hasse-Clot secured fourth – his best result of the season – with Paul Hokfelt beating David Droux to fifth.

Race two winner Denis Bulatov was seventh, ahead of Valentin Moineault, Erwan Jule and Max Defourny.

Race results
Pos. Name Time/Gap
1 Felix Hirsiger 14 laps in 24:58.294
2 Joseph Mawson +0.615
3 Lasse Sorensen +1.321
4 Valentin Hasse-Clot +3.182
5 Paul Hokfelt +6.602
6 David Droux +7.062
7 Denis Bulatov +9.011
8 Valentin Moineault +9.448
9 Erwan Jule +10.022
10 Max Defourny +12.919
11 Patricio O’Ward +14.204
12 Dorian Boccolacci +14.483
13 Niclas Nylund +16.901
14 Reuben Kressner +17.390
15 Gjergj Haxhiu +20.063
16 Amaury Richard +23.071
17 Axel Matus +23.475
18 Vladimir Atoev +25.019
19 Simo Laaksonen +26.498
20 Tom Soubiron +27.025
21 Joao Carvalho +33.933
22 Hugo Sugnot-Darniche +48.705
23 Anouck Abadie +1 lap
Not classified
Bryan Elpitiya +12 laps