Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Max Defourny scores maiden FR2.0 NEC win at home at Spa

Max Defourny scores maiden FR2.0 NEC win at home at Spa

by Peter Allen
Max Defourny

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Max Defourny converted pole position into a commanding maiden Formula Renault 2.0 victory in the first of the weekend’s NEC races at Spa-Francorchamps.

On his home circuit, the Belgian got a good getaway to immediately pull a gap over the field as Kevin Jorg took second away from the slower-starting Callan O’Keeffe.

Defourny’s advantage stood at around 1.5 seconds for much of the race, but was able to extend that to over four seconds in the closing laps as Jorg dropped back.

O’Keeffe had reclaimed second place at Les Combes on the opening lap, only to lose out again to Jorg a lap later.

Championship leader Louis Deletraz started fifth, and took fourth away from Ukyo Sasahara on lap four before chasing and catching O’Keeffe.

Late on, Jorg fell back towards the battle between O’Keeffe and Deletraz and had to defend from the South African on the last lap, but the positions remained the same.

Sasahara was a distant fifth, not far ahead of Force India protege Jehan Daruvala and Dries Vanthoor, whose elder brother Laurens goes in search of back-to-back Spa 24 Hours wins at the circuit this weekend.

Nikita Mazepin made a pass on Darius Oskoui for eighth, while Stefan Riener took 10th as the leading Koiranen entrant on the squad’s NEC return.

New team-mate Dan Ticktum had held that position after a strong start to his first FR2.0 race but dropped back as the race wore on and finished 15th.

Charlie Eastwood had a strong race to 11th from the back of the 25-car grid after a change of chassis, coming out on top of a scrap with British racers Colin Noble, Alex Gill and Ticktum.

Ninth-placed starter Ferdinand Habsburg was the race’s only retirement after slowing and pitting on the opening lap.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Max Defourny ART Junior Team 11 laps in 25:39.898
2 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.459
3 Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsports +5.328
4 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +5.581
5 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team +10.297
6 Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports +11.017
7 Dries Vanthoor Josef Kaufmann Racing +11.545
8 Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.154
9 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team +15.547
10 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP +20.638
11 Charlie Eastwood AVF +25.657
12 Colin Noble MGR Motorsport +26.168
13 Alex Gill Fortec Motorsports +32.286
14 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP +32.531
15 Daniel Ticktum Koiranen GP +32.646
16 Pontus Fredricsson Prizma Motorsport +34.236
17 Kevin Kleveros Prizma Motorsport +34.883
18 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP +36.681
19 Josef Zaruba AVF +36.759
20 Bartek Mirecki BM Racing +38.008
21 Inigo Bikuna AVF +47.570
22 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +59.754
23 Henrique Chaves AVF +1:02.877
24 David Richert Inter Europol Competition +1:03.312
Not classified
Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports +10 laps