Home Formula 4British F4 Matheus Leist in control in reverse-grid Donington race

Matheus Leist in control in reverse-grid Donington race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Paul Davies Photography

Photo: Paul Davies Photography

Brazilian racer Matheus Leist delivered his and Double R Racing’s first victory in MSA Formula in race two at Donington Park.

Having laid the groundwork by making up ten places in race one, Leist started the reverse-grid race two from front row and led every lap on his way to the checkered flag.

Beaten by Leist off the line, poleman Jack Barlow also slipped behind Sennan Fielding and Ricky Collard.

Collard, who won the reverse-grid race in round one, seemed to have the pace to challenge for victory again, but could only take runner-up from Fielding on lap seven, allowing Leist to build up a five-second advantage.

Despite the Arden driver’s efforts, Leist’s lead proved unassailable and Collard had to do with second place.

Fielding came under pressure from Barlow late in the race but held on, claiming his first podium in the championship.

Championship leader Dan Ticktum powered past several cars to claim fifth, while nearest rival Lando Norris fought his way up to sixth after a slow start, passing both James Pull and Gustavo Myasava late in the race.

Behind the two, Colton Herta and Daniel Baybutt completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Matheus Leist Double R 18 laps in 20:46.252
2 Ricky Collard Arden +2.852
3 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments +5.161
4 Jack Barlow MBM +5.570
5 Daniel Ticktum Fortec +12.729
6 Lando Norris Carlin +16.212
7 James Pull JTR +20.893
8 Gustavo Myasava Double R +21.121
9 Colton Herta Carlin +21.534
10 Daniel Baybutt JTR +22.224
11 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing +26.577
12 Jack Butel SWB Motorsport +39.733
13 Josh Smith Fortec +39.829
14 Ameya Vaidyanathan JTR +41.210
15 Rafael Martins SWB Motorsport +42.062
16 Tarun Reddy Double R +43.385
17 Ollie Pidgley Richardson Racing +49.937
18 Petru Florescu Carlin +1:12.635
19 Enaam Ahmed Arden +4 laps
Not classified
Darius Karbaley Falcon Motorsport +1 lap
Sandy Mitchell Arden +12 laps