Home News Matevos Isaakyan heads final session of F3.5V8 Jerez test

Matevos Isaakyan heads final session of F3.5V8 Jerez test

by Formula Scout
Matevos Isaakyan

Photo: Jean Michel Le Meur/DPPI

Matevos Isaakyan topped the final afternoon of the first Formula 3.5 V8 test at Jerez ahead of fellow 17-year-old newcomer George Russell.

Russell led much of the afternoon session ahead of his Strakka Racing team-mate for the day (and predecessor as BRDC Formula 4 champion) Jake Hughes.

But Isaakyan moved the front late on and despite Russell improving his time, the Russian finished up 0.147 seconds clear.

It completes a strong couple of days for the Pons team, after Yu Kanamaru set the best time on Tuesday.

There were three 17-year-olds in the top three places with just minutes remaining with Jehan Daruvala holding third, but the Force India protege was bumped down 10th by a spate of late improvements.

It was Alfonso Celis who instead took third ahead of Egor Orudzhev, while FR2.0 graduate Kevin Jorg went fifth on his last lap after switching from Arden to Lotus for Wednesday’s running.

Kanamaru was sixth ahead of Marvin Kirchhofer, while Louis Deletraz led his Fortec team-mate Gustav Malja in eighth and ninth.

Matthieu Vaxiviere was 15th of the 17 runners after only doing 11 laps for the new Spirit of Race team, but the 2015 runner-up’s time from the morning stood as the best overall from the test.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Matevos Isaakyan Pons Racing 1:28.392 25
2 George Russell Strakka Racing 1:28.539 0.147 28
3 Alfonso Celis AVF 1:28.817 0.425 40
4 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1:28.889 0.497 17
5 Kevin Jorg Lotus 1:28.978 0.586 20
6 Yu Kanamaru Pons Racing 1:29.056 0.664 23
7 Marvin Kirchhofer AVF 1:29.218 0.826 30
8 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 1:29.258 0.866 36
9 Gustav Malja Fortec Motorsports 1:29.359 0.967 27
10 Jehan Daruvala Comtec Racing 1:29.363 0.971 24
11 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing 1:29.434 1.042 16
12 Vladimir Atoev Carlin 1:29.667 1.275 18
13 Jack Aitken Arden Motorsport 1:29.735 1.343 25
14 Nikita Zlobin Carlin 1:30.191 1.799 23
15 Matthieu Vaxiviere Spirit of Race 1:30.339 1.947 11
16 Aurelien Panis Tech 1 Racing 1:30.505 2.113 27
17 Mahaveer Raghunathan Comtec Racing 1:31.725 3.333 34