Home Featured Martins comfortably quickest in F3 practice at Zandvoort

Martins comfortably quickest in F3 practice at Zandvoort

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Victor Martins topped FIA Formula 3 practice at Zandvoort in commanding style as he looks to bounce back from a tough weekend at Spa-Francorchamps.

The ART Grand Prix driver has a strong record in the Dutch dunes, taking his first F3 win at Zandvoort last year after taking a win in Formula Renault in 2020.

He went clear at the top of the times in the middle of the session and found another four tenths of a second on his next flying lap, a 1m25.688s. Nobody else would get underneath 1m26s.

The session was interrupted a few minutes later when Brad Benavides went off into the Turn 9 gravel trap, which was covered by a virtual safety car. Reece Ushijima would later run wide and hit the wall at the same place with only three minutes left on the clock, effectively ending the session early – although few drivers were improving their times by that stage anyway.

Martins’ fellow Alpine Academy driver Caio Collet moved up into second for local team MP Motorsport with just over 10 minutes to go, and later improved his time to head his team-mate Alexander Smolyar.

Jak Crawford was fifth for Prema ahead of Franco Colapinto (Van Amersfoort Racing), the Trident pair of Roman Stanek and Jonny Edgar, and Prema’s Ollie Bearman.

Championship leader Isack Hadjar, who leads by a point over Bearman and two over Martins, was 12th for Hitech GP.

Arthur Leclerc, a winner at Zandvoort last year, was only 21st.

Sebastian Montoya was 17th and clocked more laps than anybody else as he made his F3 debut for Campos Racing. David Schumacher was 24th on his return with Charouz.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m25.688s 15
2 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m26.080s +0.392s 17
3 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m26.165s +0.477s 18
4 Jak Crawford Prema Racing 1m26.190s +0.502s 14
5 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.292s +0.604s 16
6 Roman Stanek Trident 1m26.306s +0.618s 18
7 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m26.467s +0.779s 16
8 Ollie Bearman Prema Racing 1m26.487s +0.799s 15
9 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m26.522s +0.834s 15
10 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m26.554s +0.866s 14
11 Zane Maloney Trident 1m26.587s +0.899s 15
12 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 1m26.676s +0.988s 15
13 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m26.720s +1.032s 16
14 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix 1m26.789s +1.101s 12
15 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.925s +1.237s 15
16 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m27.058 +1.370s 16
17 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m27.119 +1.431s 21
18 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m27.208 +1.520s 7
19 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m27.221 +1.533s 16
20 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m27.284 +1.596s 14
21 Arthur Leclerc Prema Racing 1m27.350 +1.662s 15
22 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m27.351 +1.663s 15
23 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.361 +1.673s 16
24 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m27.376 +1.688s 20
25 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m27.402 +1.714s 17
26 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m27.613 +1.925s 13
27 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.797 +2.109s 11
28 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.416 +2.728s 19
29 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m28.820 +3.132s 20
30 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix 1m29.980 +4.292s 14