Home Featured Doohan dominates incident-filled first F2 session at Zandvoort

Doohan dominates incident-filled first F2 session at Zandvoort

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jack Doohan continued his strong form to top practice as Zandvoort caught out several others on the Formula 2 championship’s circuit debut.

The first of two red flags came within the first 10 minutes after David Beckmann spun into the gravel at the penultimate corner. He was able to roll back onto the track and continue, but marshals were deployed onto the circuit to sweep away gravel and almost 10 more minutes had elapsed before the session resumed.

Doohan went quickest just beyond the halfway mark and then found over a second on his next flying lap to reclaim top spot by 1.4 seconds from Frederik Vesti.

Vesti improved himself next time around, only to then lose the rear of his car in Turn 2 and spin into the barrier on the outside, necessitating the second red flag.

There were only 10 minutes left on the clock when the session resumed once more, and with five minutes to go Doohan found more time to set a 1m22.967s.

Ayumu Iwasa moved up to second, 0.323s away from Doohan, with championship leader Felipe Drugovich third and Liam Lawson claiming fourth.

Dennis Hauger improved late on to take fifth ahead of Vesti, with Logan Sargeant eighth and Amaury Cordeel ninth.

Theo Pourchaire had an early adventure through the gravel at Turn 11 and ended up ninth with Richard Verschoor 10th at his home track. Jehan Daruvala found the Turn 1 gravel trap in the closing minutes after setting the 11th best time.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m22.967s 15
2 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m23.290s +0.323s 16
3 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m23.369s +0.402s 16
4 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m23.402s +0.435s 16
5 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m23.414s +0.447s 15
6 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m23.453s +0.486s 9
7 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m23.463s +0.496s 16
8 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m23.537s +0.570s 18
9 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m23.584s +0.617s 16
10 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m23.595s +0.628s 16
11 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m23.839s +0.872s 15
12 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m23.955s +0.988s 12
13 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m23.970s +1.003s 16
14 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m23.987s +1.020s 15
15 Calan Williams Trident 1m24.008s +1.041s 14
16 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m24.033s +1.066s 16
17 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m24.077s +1.110s 16
18 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m24.126s +1.159s 16
19 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m24.297s +1.330s 16
20 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m24.476s +1.509s 16
21 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m24.608s +1.641s 17
22 Tatiana Calderon Charouz Racing System 1m25.824s +2.857s 17