Home Featured Maloney fastest in red-flagged Zandvoort FIA F3 qualifying

Maloney fastest in red-flagged Zandvoort FIA F3 qualifying

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Trident’s Zane Maloney claimed pole position for the FIA Formula 3 round at Zandvoort, in a session where several drivers had their final laps affected by a late red flag.

Maloney is the first driver to achieve a repeat pole this season, putting an end to a seven-round streak of different polesitters.

Practice pacesetter Victor Martins was first to top the charts. His laptime of 1m25.152s was half-a-second faster than his fastest time in the morning. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Franco Colapinto was provisionally second in the early stages of the session, just one tenth off Martins’ benchmark.

All the cars were out on track again for the second run with 14 minutes remaining on the clock. Jenzer’s Ido Cohen and Charouz Racing System’s Francesco Pizzi complained over the radio as they had to abort their laps due to running into traffic of drivers completing their preparation laps.

ART Grand Prix’s Martins lowered his time, but Maloney would better it by almost three tenths. Maloney’s teammate Roman Stanek also improved to third as cars headed back into the pit-lane.

The short track length — just 4.307 kilometres — allowed drivers to go for a three-run plan with just one timed lap in each, contrasting with the usual strategy of two runs with two timed laps each.

Prema’s Jak Crawford moved up to third place while the session remained green, and championship leader Isack Hadjar was also able to improve after being out of the top 12 for most of the session. The Hitech GP ace set the sixth fastest time, just ahead of series debutant Sebastian Montoya, who is deputising for injured Hunter Yeany at Campos.

The red flag then came out with less than one minute to go after Jenzer’s William Alatalo had a snap at the banked turn three and hit the barrier, and it wouldn’t restart. Prema’s Ollie Bearman, who was approaching the start-finish line at that point, couldn’t make his lap count and will start both races from 14th on the grid. Team-mate Arthur Leclerc fared worse, qualifying 20th for the second Friday in a row.

ART GP’s Juan Manuel Correa took reversed-grid pole position, with his teammate Gregoire Saucy to start Saturday’s sprint race alongside him.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Zane Maloney Trident 1m24.386s 12
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m24.675s +0.289 12
3 Jak Crawford Prema Racing 1m24.822s +0.436 11
4 Roman Stanek Trident 1m24.831s +0.445 11
5 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m24.855s +0.469 10
6 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 1m25.029s +0.643 11
7 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m25.038s +0.652 12
8 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m25.047s +0.661 13
9 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m25.172s +0.786 13
10 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m25.211s +0.825 12
11 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m25.365s +0.979 10
12 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m25.376s +0.990 11
13 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m25.510s +1.124 13
14 Ollie Bearman Prema Racing 1m25.555s +1.169 10
15 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m25.595s +1.209 12
16 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m25.618s +1.232 13
17 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m25.628s +1.242 11
18 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix 1m25.637s +1.251 11
19 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m25.668s +1.282 10
20 Arthur Leclerc Prema Racing 1m25.684s +1.298 10
21 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m25.762s +1.376 12
22 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m25.800s +1.414 12
23 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m25.826s +1.440 10
24 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m26.248s +1.862 11
25 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m26.251s +1.865 12
26 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m26.493s +2.107 13
27 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m26.631s +2.245 10
28 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m26.635s +2.249 12
29 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix 1m27.166s +2.780 11
30 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m28.653s +4.267 11