Home Featured Martins beats Fewtrell and Lundgaard for Formula Renault Eurocup finale pole

Martins beats Fewtrell and Lundgaard for Formula Renault Eurocup finale pole

by Peter Allen


Victor Martins claimed pole position for the Formula Renault Eurocup finale at Barcelona after beating his title-fighting Renault Sport Academy colleagues Max Fewtrell and Christian Lundgaard to top his group.

All three Renault juniors ran in the second group, with championship leader Fewtrell getting underneath his R-ace GP team-mate Logan Sargeant’s benchmark of 1m42.094s with three minutes to go, and outpacing rival Lundgaard by 0.282 seconds.

Fewtrell and Lundgaard were both slow on their next laps, opening the door for Martins to go fastest from a lowly position with a 1m41.864s.

On their final laps after the chequered flag, Fewtrell and Lundgaard both improved but fell short of Martins’ previous effort by 0.104 and 0.164s respectively,?leaving them third and fifth on the grid.

With a 23.5-point leader over Lundgaard, Fewtrell only needs to finish in the top nine to clinch the title, while Lundgaard must repeat his race one win.

In the first group, Lorenzo Colombo had been close with his fellow race one podium finisher Sargeant until failing to improve on his last lap, which left him 0.278s behind but nonetheless once again in fourth on the grid next to Fewtrell.

Colombo’s JD Motorsport team-mate Thomas Maxwell repeated his third place in the group from Saturday to take sixth on the grid next to Lundgaard.

Eliseo Martinez took a fine fourth in the second group at the home circuit for the Spanish racer and his AVF team. He will line up ahead of Neil Verhagen, Charles Milesi and Yifei Ye, whose struggles this weekend continued with only fifth in the first group.


Qualifying results
Group B ? Group A
1 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP 1m42.094 1 Victor Martins R-ace GP 1m41.864
2 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport 1m42.372 2 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 1m41.968
3 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport 1m42.525 3 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport 1m42.028
4 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing 1m42.546 4 Eliseo Martinez AVF 1m42.292
5 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m42.646 5 Charles Milesi R-ace GP 1m42.300
6 Oscar Piastri Arden 1m42.673 6 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing 1m42.385
7 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing 1m42.858 7 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m42.435
8 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports 1m42.868 8 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport 1m42.698
9 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports 1m43.158 9 Freek Schothorst MP Motorsport 1m42.832
10 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport 1m43.327 10 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing 1m42.881
11 Sami Taoufik Arden 1m43.346 11 Axel Matus AVF 1m43.059
12 Nikita Volegov Arden 1m43.384 12 Christian Munoz AVF 1m43.731