Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Ross Martin extends National FF1600 lead with Brands Hatch win

Ross Martin extends National FF1600 lead with Brands Hatch win

by Bethonie Waring

Ross Martin extended his BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 points lead with victory in the third race at Brands Hatch Indy.

The championship leader had a comfortable lead at the front of the field after moving past reversed grid poleman Aaron Jeansonne, but two late safety cars turned the race into a three minute sprint to the flag.

Martin was forced to defend his position against a train of cars, consisting of his title rivals Neil Maclennan, James Clarke and Spike Kohlbecker.

Clarke spent most of the race running second and had been slowly closing the two second gap to Martin when the first safety car was brought out after Max Marzorati clipped a barrier and was left stranded at the side of the track.

He stayed with Martin on the restart and was beginning to challenge for the lead when Nicole Woods brought out the safety car again within a lap of the track going green.

On the second restart, the top two were joined by Maclennan and Kohlbecker. Clarke switched between attacking and defending and dropped away from Martin slightly. Both Maclennan and Kohlbecker passed Clarke, but he fought back to retake third behind MacLennon on the final lap.

Rory Smith, Jonathan Browne, and Jamie Sharp were in the train behind the leaders in the closing stages of the race, finishing fifth, sixth, and seventh respectively.

Jamie Thorburn took eighth, ahead of Clubman class winner and runner-up Adam Quartermaine and Jason Down. Quartermaine, team-mate to Martin at Team Dolan, is now in the lead of the Clubman standings.


Race results (19 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Ross Martin Team Dolan 20m13.527s
2 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing +0.204s
3 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.446s
4 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.012s
5 Rory Smith B-M Racing +1.255s
6 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.352s
7 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +1.647s
8 Jamie Thorburn Border Reivers +1.830s
9 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +7.300s
10 Jason Down Getem Racing +7.378s
11 Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport +10.237s
12 Scott Huntley Kevin Mills Racing +10.683s
Ret Henry Chart Team Dolan
Ret Nicole Woods B-M Racing
Ret Max Marzorati Team Dolan
Ret Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing
Ret Morgan Quinn Team Dolan
Fastest lap: Martin, 51.060s

Championship standings
1?Martin 373? ?2?Kohlbecker 344? ?3 Maclennan 343? ?4?Clarke 277? ?5 Smith 241? ?6 Browne 217? ?7 Sharp 178? ?8 Jeansonne 126? ?9?Quinn 125? ?10 Macpherson 124