Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Mardenborough secures maiden single-seater win at Timaru

Mardenborough secures maiden single-seater win at Timaru

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Jann Mardenborough Timaru

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

British racer Jann Mardenborough led a Giles Motorsport 1-2 in the second race at Timaru, converting a reverse-grid pole into a comfortable win.

In a somewhat hectic race, which saw two safety car periods, Mardenborough’s lead never appeared to be under much of a threat and, after 15 laps of on-and-off green flag running, the Brit crossed the line in first to take his maiden victory in single-seaters.

Front row starter Martin Rump calmly settled for second and took over in the lead of the standings. Dutchman Steijn Schothorst crossed the line in third after moving up several spots at the start, but was shortly penalized for a premature getaway and dropped out of the top ten.

As such, Egor Orudzhev picked up the final podium place, holding off Damon Leitch. Gustavo Lima took his best finish in the series in fifth, while Neil Alberico narrowly kept Levin Amweg at bay for sixth.

Jordan Oon, Robin Hansson and Ryan Tveter rounded out the top ten.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport 15 laps in 19:14.744
2 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport +1.201
3 Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition +3.982
4 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +4.133
5 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition +7.179
6 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing +8.205
7 Levin Amweg M2 Competition +8.468
8 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport +9.945
9 Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing +10.278
10 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport +10.932
11 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport +11.231
12 Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport +12.120
13 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +13.010
14 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport 13.206
15 Macauley Jones M2 Competition +13.349
16 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +13.620
17 Pedro Piquet M2 Competition +39.251
18 James Munro Neale Motorsport +1 lap
19 Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport +4 laps
Not classified
Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +9 laps
Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport +10 laps
Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport +10 laps
Matt Rao Giles Motorsport +15 laps