Home Formula 3Macau Grand Prix Marcus Armstrong tops first Macau Grand Prix F3 practice

Marcus Armstrong tops first Macau Grand Prix F3 practice

by Peter Allen

Marcus Armstrong was fastest in the first practice session of a new era of Formula 3 at the Macau Grand Prix ahead of relative circuit veterans Jake Hughes and Dan Ticktum.

Two-time winner Ticktum, returning Formula 2 racer Callum Ilott and Hughes all took turns on top spot before Prema driver Armstrong went quickest with two and a half minutes remaining by nine tenths of a second.

Armstrong, who finished eighth on his Macau debut in last year’s race, then found another seven tenths on his next lap to finish up fastest with a 2m08.023s.

The New Zealander’s FIA F3 Championship-winning team-mate Robert Shwartzman moved up into second place, but would be demoted back to fourth behind HWA’s Hughes and Carlin driver Ticktum.

Richard Verschoor was consistently the most impressive Macau newcomer for MP Motorsport, leading the way early on and setting another quick time late on to finish fifth.

Ilott, in his first session behind the wheel of the FIA F3 car for Sauber Junior Team by Charouz, ended up sixth in front of Frederik Vesti and Enaam Ahmed – late call-ups for Prema and Campos respectively – who set identical times.

Logan Sargeant was ninth while Christian Lundgaard just edged out his new ART team-mate Sebastian Fernandez for 10th.

The session went by almost without major incident, the exception being Yuki Tsunoda’s crash at Hospital bend causing a virtual safety car period with 16 minutes to go.

His Hitech and Red Bull colleague Juri Vips finished only 26th after the 30 runners following an apparent Drag Reduction System failure, having driven a lap with his rear wing open before pitting.


Free practice 1 results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Marcus Armstrong Prema 2m08.023s
2 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +0.119s
3 Dan Ticktum Carlin +0.359s
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.516s
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +0.964s
6 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1.102s
7 Frederik Vesti Prema +1.250s
8 Enaam Ahmed Campos Racing +1.250s
9 Logan Sargeant Carlin +1.540s
10 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +1.600s
11 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +1.604s
12 Alessio Lorandi Trident +1.817s
13 David Beckmann Trident +2.171s
14 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP +2.218s
15 Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport +2.950s
16 Enzo Fittipaldi Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +3.059s
17 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +3.187s
18 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +3.462s
19 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +3.560s
20 Sophia Floersch HWA Racelab +3.568s
21 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +3.674s
22 Ferdinand Habsburg ART Grand Prix +3.730s
23 Charles Leong Jenzer Motorsport +4.257s
24 Olli Caldwell Trident +4.267s
25 David Schumacher Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +4.312s
26 Juri Vips Hitech GP +5.872s
27 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +7.011s
28 Yuki Tsunoda Hitech GP +7.740s
29 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +14.190s
30 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +22.056s