Home Formula 4Italian F4 Maisano cruises to victory in race one at Imola

Maisano cruises to victory in race one at Imola

by Aditya Banerjee
Brandon Maisano

Photo: ACI Sport

French driver Brandon Maisano took a commanding victory in the first race of the final weekend of the 2014 Italian F4 season at Imola.

The 21-year-old, who is Prema’s sole entrant for the weekend, maintained his lead from the start and was never challenged, winning the race by over 12 seconds.

Euronova’s Sennan Fielding took his third podium finish in four races in the category, but the race was far from straightforward for him. After getting a strong start and moving up two places from fourth, he was harried all the way by Italian driver Mattia Drudi.

On lap ten, Drudi dove down the inside of Fielding at the Tamburello chicane, but the two collided, sending the F & M driver into a spin, which dropped him to seventh. Fielding lost second to Antonelli’s Joao Vieira, and in a bid to keep the other Antonelli of Andrea Russo behind, he cut across the track and damaged the Italian’s front wing.

Vieira ran off at Acqua Minerali shortly afterwards, promoting Fielding back to second, which he kept to the flag. He was followed home by teammate Andrea Fontana.

Matteo Desideri passed Leonardo Pulcini en route to finishing fourth ahead of the DAV driver. Drudi could only manage sixth, with teammate Mahaveer Raghunathan coming home in seventh.

Lucas Mauron, Robert Shwartzman and Ivan Matveev completed the top ten, whilst Russo, whose broken wing came off on lap 11, was disqualified?on the final lap for ignoring black-and-orange flags.

Update: Fielding was given a 25-second penalty, dropping him to tenth.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam
2 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing by Fortec +13.205
3 Matteo Desideri Antonelli Motorsport +14.364
4 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing +15.415
5 Mattia Drudi F & M SRL +16.830
6 Mahaveer Raghunathan F & M SRL +24.999
7 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport +32.190
8 Robert Shwartzman Cram Motorsport +32.633
9 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova +32.806
10 Sennan Fielding Euronova Racing by Fortec +37.104*
11 Shinji Sawada Euronova Racing by Fortec +42.628
12 Jonathan Giudice Diegi Motorsport +52.826
13 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport +53.151
14 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport +53.233
15 Ali Al Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport +65.451
16 Bar Baruch Israel F4 +1:22.604
17 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing +1 lap
Not classified
18 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport +4 laps
19 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport +5 laps
20 Andrea Russo Antonelli Motorsport Disqualified

*25-second penalty