Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Maiden win for Eurocup rookie Dennis Olsen at Spa

Maiden win for Eurocup rookie Dennis Olsen at Spa

by Ant Musker
Dennis Olsen

Photo: Frederic Le Floch/DPPI

Dennis Olsen recorded his first ever victory in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 after a fantastic drive in race one at Spa-Francorchamps.

In a field of 40 drivers, the Prema Powerteam rookie was able to take the lead early on from third on the gird. Despite an initial strong get away from pole man Nyck de Vries, Olsen used a slipstream to pass the Dutchman who went down to third temporarily before retaking the position from Levin Amweg.

There were a few early retirements with Steijn Schothorst flying off on the opening lap, while Matt Parry and debutants Jake Hughes and Louis Deletraz also failed to complete the first lap.

A safety car was then required for a crash involving Denis Korneev in the JD Motorsport car. At the restart, Olsen controlled the pack and held off the attempts of McLaren man de Vries and was able to come home in first with a gap of 1.955s.

With second place, de Vries extends his championship lead to ten points and it was a third straight third-place finish for Bruno Bonifacio who charged through from eighth on the grid.

The Brazilian passed Alexander Albon on the Kemmel straight to prevent the KTR man getting a podium but it was a good finish for him from sixth. Amweg, who had early on been second ended up in fifth with Tech 1?s Egor Orudzhev sixth.

Kevin Jorg spent the race gradually slipping back the way through the field after failing to build on his front row qualification. He finished seventh ahead of French duo Aurelien Panis and Anthoine Hubert. Koiranen?s Ignazio D?Agosto took the final points place after coming from 20th on the grid.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 12 laps in 29:10.740
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP +1.955
3 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +4.550
4 Alexander Albon KTR +5.754
5 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +7.076
6 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +9.060
7 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +11.310
8 Aur?lien Panis ART Junior Team +11.980
9 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +12.643
10 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +15.081
11 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +15.379
12 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP +16.526
13 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +17.479
14 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +17.692
15 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +17.948
16 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +18.203
17 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +18.610
18 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +20.041
19 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +20.933
20 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +21.161
21 Matthew Graham AVF +21.827
22 Gregor Ramsay KTR +22.720
23 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +23.935
24 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam +26.629
25 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing +27.420
26 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +28.114
27 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +28.689
28 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +30.751
29 Philo Paz Armand Tech 1 Racing +33.110
30 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports +34.406
31 James Allen ARTA Engineering +35.277
32 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +36.150
33 Josef Zaruba AVF +37.105
34 Vasiliy Romanov Tech 1 Racing +42.430
Not classified
Denis Korneev JD Motorsport +10 laps
Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing +10 laps
Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +12 laps
Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +12 laps
Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport +12 laps
Louis Deletraz AVF +12 laps