Home Featured Lundgaard keeps Eurocup title hopes alive by beating Fewtrell in first Barcelona qualifying

Lundgaard keeps Eurocup title hopes alive by beating Fewtrell in first Barcelona qualifying

by Peter Allen


Christian Lundgaard kept his slim Formula Renault Eurocup title hopes alive with pole for the first race of the Barcelona finale after beating points leader Max Fewtrell in a wet qualifying.

MP Motorsport’s Lundgaard and R-ace GP driver Fewtrell ran in the first of the two qualifying groups, something that would in theory be disadvantageous on a track that was drying after overnight rain.

Both Renault juniors set their best times inside the final minute of the session, with Lundgaard’s 1m55.288s enough for him to beat Fewtrell to top spot by 0.645s.

Logan Sargeant was in control in the second session but, not helped by a red flag with five minutes to go, was unable to match Lundgaard’s time, setting a 1m55.736s with his final attempt.

Fewtrell will be joined on the second row of the grid by Lorenzo Colombo, who was 0.375s away from Sargeant’s time in the latter group.

Colombo’s JD Motorsport team-mate Thomas Maxwell was third in the group, putting him sixth on the grid next to Victor Martins, who was a second adrift of Lundgaard’s time.

Alexander Smolyar and Charles Milesi rounded out the top five in group one, with Oscar Piastri and Frank Bird filling those places in group two.

Yifei Ye, who is second in the championship, 20.5 points behind Fewtrell and 16 ahead of Lundgaard, could only manage seventh in the second group, despite improving on his final lap.

That puts the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver 14th on the grid behind Alex Peroni, Neil Verhagen and Christian Munoz.

Sami Taoufik triggered the red flag in the second group when he spun into the gravel, ending up slowest.


Qualifying results
Group A ? Group B
1 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport 1m55.288 1 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP 1m55.736
2 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 1m55.933 2 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport 1m36.111
3 Victor Martins R-ace GP 1m56.383 3 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport 1m36.433
4 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing 1m56.479 4 Oscar Piastri Arden 1m36.550
5 Charles Milesi R-ace GP 1m56.702 5 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing 1m36.571
6 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport 1m56.760 6 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing 1m36.855
7 Christian Munoz AVF 1m57.104 7 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m36.931
8 Eliseo Martinez AVF 1m57.238 8 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports 1m36.987
9 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m57.242 9 Nikita Volegov Arden 1m57.462
10 Axel Matus AVF 1m57.515 10 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport 1m57.838
11 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing 1m57.645 11 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports 1m58.067
12 Freek Schothorst MP Motorsport 1m57.863 12 Sami Taoufik Arden 2m00.008