Home Featured Logan Sargeant takes maiden FIA F3 pole at Silverstone

Logan Sargeant takes maiden FIA F3 pole at Silverstone

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Logan Sargeant claimed his first FIA Formula 3 Championship pole at Silverstone, ahead of Liam Lawson and points leader Oscar Piastri.

A flurry of fast laps in the final moments of the session meant all three drivers held provisional pole position in the space of around five seconds, but it was Sargeant who crossed the line last to secure the top spot.

Piastri set the pace early on, but it was his Prema team-mate Sargeant on top of the order when most of the field returned to the pits at the end of their first stints.

High temperatures at the British circuit meant many drivers struggled to get two fast laps out of one set of tyres, but Prema’s drivers were capable of achieving the feat and it was on Sargeant’s second lap that he was able to find some improvement.

Piastri lowered the benchmark to 1m46.383s with the first lap of his second stint and was top of the order when the chequered flag fell.

Hitech GP’s Lawson went marginally faster on his final lap of the session, a 1m46.315s which Piastri couldn’t match.

He didn’t spend long at the top of the order as Sargeant came through moments later, setting a 1m46.257s lap to take his first F3 pole.

Lawson’s Renault junior team-mate Max Fewtrell beat the third Prema car of Frederik Vesti to fourth place and was the top Briton.

Campos Racing’s Alex Peroni was initially classified 18th after having his best time removed for track limits abuse, but on review that proved incorrect and he will instead start from sixth.

ART Grand Prix’s Sebastian Fernandez and HWA Racelab’s Jake Hughes qualified seventh and eighth as Lirim Zendeli (Trident) and Alex Smolyar (ART) completed the top 10.

Sportscar star Ben Barnicoat qualified 20th, 1.205s off the pace, on his single-seater return with Carlin as he replaces Enaam Ahmed.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Logan Sargeant Prema 1m46.257s 11
2 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m46.315s +0.058s 12
3 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m46.383s +0.126s 11
4 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1m46.73s +0.473s 12
5 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m46.785s +0.528s 11
6 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1m46.860s +0.603s 11
7 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m46.896s +0.639s 12
8 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m46.910s +0.653s 12
9 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m46.941s +0.684s 12
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m46.941s +0.684s 12
11 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m46.986s +0.729s 13
12 David Beckmann Trident 1m47.002s +0.745s 12
13 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.044s +0.787s 12
14 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m47.148s +0.891s 11
15 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m47.162s +0.905s 10
16 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.177s +0.920s 11
17 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m47.344s +1.087s 12
18 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m47.382s +1.125s 11
19 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m47.429s +1.172s 12
20 Ben Barnicoat Carlin 1m47.462s +1.205s 11
21 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m47.474s +1.217s 12
22 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m47.504s +1.247s 11
23 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System 1m47.624s +1.367s 11
24 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m47.656s +1.399s 11
25 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m47.667s +1.410s 12
26 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.717s +1.460s 13
27 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m47.731s +1.474s 11
28 Cameron Das Carlin 1m48.237s +1.980s 7
29 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.289s +2.032s 12
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m48.384s +2.127s 11