Home Formula 3GB3 Lima holds on to score maiden victory in reverse-grid Brands race

Lima holds on to score maiden victory in reverse-grid Brands race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: BRDC F4

Photo: BRDC F4

Hillspeed’s Gustavo Lima converted a reverse-grid pole position into his career first win in BRDC F4 at Brands Hatch.

The Brazilian fended off constant attacks from reigning Protyre Formula Renault champion Chris Middlehurst throughout the race. The MGR racer came close to taking the lead on several occasions, but eventually crossed the line just 0.044s behind the winner.

The final podium position also remained contested for the entire duration of the race. Struan Moore held the position early on, even briefly challenging Middlehurst for second before being overtaken by HHC’s Sennan Fielding.

Fielding, however, would go off on the lap 13, dropping to fifth place and allowing two Lanan drivers through, with championship leader George Russell passing Arjun Maini for third on the final lap.

Race one winner Raoul Hyman took sixth behind Fielding, while Will Palmer was seventh ahead of Moore. Douglas Motorsport’s Mexican duo of Diego Menchaca and Rodrigo Fonseca rounded out the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed 14 laps in 20:34.533
2 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +0.044
3 George Russell Lanan Racing +4.892
4 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +5.173
5 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +8.797
6 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +10.418
7 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +13.963
8 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +14.966
9 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +15.210
10 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +15.570
11 Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing +18.032
12 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +20.644
13 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +20.890
14 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +21.249
15 Falco Wauer Enigma Motorsport +21.988
16 Alfredo Zabalza Hillspeed +34.914
17 Gaetano Di Mauro Petroball Racing +35.781
18 Dan Roeper Petroball Racing +35.842
19 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +39.521
20 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +48.470
21 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +1:04.060
Not classified
David Wagner Mark Godwin Racing +7 laps