Home Featured Liam Lawson sets quickest time of FIA F3 pre-season test so far

Liam Lawson sets quickest time of FIA F3 pre-season test so far

by Peter Allen

Photo: Joe Portlock / LAT Images / FIA F3 Championship

Red Bull junior Liam Lawson set the best time so far of the FIA Formula 3 pre-season test in Bahrain at the end of the second day.

Lawson, who moved to Hitech from MP Motorsport over the winter, spent much of the afternoon session on top of the times after an early effort.

He regained first place with 20 minutes remaining, before Clement Novalak went quickest 10 minutes later.

With less than five minutes on the clock, Lawson went back to the top with a 1m46.365s lap, half a second quicker than Novalak and the first man underneath the opening day benchmark set by Devlin DeFrancesco.

The red flags then came out for the third time, bringing an early end to the session.

Campos driver Alex Peroni followed his second place from Sunday with third place this time, in front of Prema’s lead driver Logan Sargeant.

Lawson’s Hitech and Red Bull stable-mate Dennis Hauger was fifth in front of Prema’s Oscar Piastri.

Fresh from testing Formula E with Mercedes in Marrakech on Sunday, Jake Hughes joined the test at the start of the afternoon session and had spells on top of the times before finishing up seventh.

ART duo Theo Pourchaire and Sebastian Fernandez were next, with Trident’s DeFrancesco rounding out the top 10.

Max Fewtrell and Sophia Floersch also went faster than the morning’s best time set by David Schumacher, who was 25th for Charouz in the afternoon.


Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m46.365s 25
2 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m46.884s +0.519s 35
3 Alexander Peroni Campos Racing 1m46.902s +0.537s 37
4 Logan Sargeant Prema Racing 1m46.936s +0.571s 38
5 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m47.068s +0.703s 27
6 Oscar Piastri Prema Racing 1m47.090s +0.725s 36
7 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m47.200s +0.835s 44
8 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.201s +0.836s 28
9 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m47.261s +0.896s 35
10 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1m47.264s +0.899s 34
11 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1m47.339s +0.974s 27
12 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m47.436s +1.071s 33
13 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.533s +1.168s 25
14 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m47.538s +1.173s 35
15 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m47.690s +1.325s 38
16 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.763s +1.398s 26
17 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m47.781s +1.416s 38
18 Frederik Vesti Prema Racing 1m47.798s +1.433s 32
19 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.908s +1.543s 33
20 Cameron Das Carlin 1m47.996s +1.631s 28
21 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 1m48.324s +1.959s 23
22 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m48.983s +2.618s 34
23 Niko Kari Charouz Racing System 1m50.866s +4.501s 41
24 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m51.070s +4.705s 36
25 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m51.076s +4.711s 41
26 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m51.120s +4.755s 19
27 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m51.134s +4.769s 32
28 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m51.204s +4.839s 35
29 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m51.304s +4.939s 35
30 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m51.721s +5.356s 35