Home Featured Lawson wins crash-filled FIA F3 race one at Silverstone

Lawson wins crash-filled FIA F3 race one at Silverstone

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Liam Lawson ended a run of retirements in FIA Formula 3 Championship to take his second series win in the first race at Silverstone.

The Hitech GP driver snatched the race lead on the opening lap, with a strong move around the outside of poleman Logan Sargeant at Stowe.

He made quick work of extending the gap to the Prema driver as Sargeant battled points-leading team-mate Oscar Piastri, and had a gap of just over a second by the time Piastri managed to get into second place.

Piastri quickly closed in on Lawson. The pair ran side-by-side for multiple corners before Lawson was able to edge his car back ahead of Piastri.

As Sargeant joined the battle for the lead, a crash between HWA Racelab’s Jack Doohan and MP Motorsport’s Bent Viscaal brought out the safety car.

Lawson made a good restart when racing resumed but was growing concerned about tyre degradation.

Piastri was just putting pressure on the leader late on when a multi-car collision brought out the safety car again.

Trident’s Olli Caldwell was tapped from behind in a midfield battle and spin at Club. A few drivers managed to avoid his car, but MP’s Lukas Dunner and Hitech’s Max Fewtrell were unable to and all three had their races ended.

Debris was strewn across the start of the start-finish straight, and racing did not resume in the final laps.

Drivers were ordered to enter the pitlane at the end of the final lap, with Lawson getting the message late and taking out the pit entry bollard.

Piastri finished second ahead of Sargeant and HWA’s Jake Hughes, who managed to find a way past Frederik Vesti after a strong defence from the Prema driver.

Campos Racing’s Alex Peroni took sixth ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Sebastian Fernandez, Carlin’s Clement Novalak and Trident’s David Beckmann.

Alexander Smolyar held onto the final points position after a race-long battle with MP’s Richard Verschoor and Trident’s Lirim Zendelli. He starts from reversed grid pole for race two.


Race results (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 43m28.199s
2 Oscar Piastri Prema +1.060s
3 Logan Sargeant Prema +2.698s
4 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +5.127s
5 Frederik Vesti Prema +9.087s
6 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +11.298s
7 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +13.542s
8 Clement Novalak Carlin +15.461s
9 David Beckmann Trident +17.847s
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +21.295s
11 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +24.424s
12 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +30.609s
13 Lirim Zendel Trident +34.001s
14 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +35.534s
15 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System +36.587s
16 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +43.637s
17 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +45.157s
18 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System +46.350s
19 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +47.149s
20 Ben Barnicoat Carlin +49.118s
21 Cameron Das Carlin +50.073s
22 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing +51.724s
23 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +55.015s
24 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +1m03.739s
25 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +1 lap
Ret Olli Caldwell Trident
Ret Max Fewtrell Hitech GP
Ret Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport
Ret Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport
Ret Jack Doohan HWA Racelab
Fastest lap: Novalak, 1m47.095s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 94   2 Sargeant 69   3 Lawson 50   4 Beckmann 49.5   5 Pourchaire 48   6 Vesti 47.5   7 Verschoor 45   8 Peroni 32   9 Zendeli 26   10 Fernandez 25