Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Lasse Sorensen links up with Manor MP for Eurocup season

Lasse Sorensen links up with Manor MP for Eurocup season

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Jorge Cunha / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Jorge Cunha / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Reigning French F4 champion Lasse Sorensen will graduate to Formula Renault 2.0, racing in the Eurocup series with Dutch team Manor MP.

Sorensen, 18, is MP’s second signing, lining up alongside 2014 Eurocup runner-up Dennis Olsen.

Having began in cars in 2012, Sorensen completed two seasons in the national Formula Ford series, winning on nine occasions and finishing runner-up in his sophomore campaign.

He went on to star in French F4, sweeping the rounds at Val de Vienne and Nogaro on his way to comfortably securing the title.

He tested with Manor MP at Jerez after the completion of the Eurocup season, while his older brother Marco Sorensen had delivered MP’s first victory in the GP2 Series earlier.

MP have figured in the Eurocup Formula Renault championship since 2008, having celebrated a maiden win in their first season via Paul Meijer. They struggled to get back to the front until 2013, when RSF racer Oliver Rowland finished runner-up for the team.

Manor MP were the sixth best team in 2014 despite running only two full-time entrants, with two victories courtesy of Andrea Pizzitola.

2015 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 line-up so far
Team Drivers
Koiranen GP Jake Hughes Anton De Pasquale Jack Aitken
Fortec Motorsports Ben Barnicoat
ART Junior Team
Josef Kaufmann Racing
Manor MP Motorsport Dennis Olsen Lasse Sorensen
Tech 1 Racing
ARTA Engineering James Allen
Strakka Racing
JD Motorsport