Home Featured Lando Norris leads Carlin 1-2 on second day of F2 testing

Lando Norris leads Carlin 1-2 on second day of F2 testing

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Malcom Griffiths/FIA Formula 2

Lando Norris was fastest again on the second day of the first Formula 2 pre-season test at Paul Ricard, with his team-mate Sergio Sette Camara making it a Carlin one-two.

Norris set his fastest time of the day in the morning session, a 1m42.226s which was 0.161s faster than Sette Camara, who switches from MP Motorsport to series returnee Carlin for a second year in F2.

DAMS’ Alex Albon was fastest in the afternoon session with a 1m42.226s, and third overall ahead of Jack Aitken, driving for Albon’s former team ART Grand Prix.

Louis Deletraz was fifth quickest for series newcomers?Charouz Racing System, with Arjun Maini (Trident) sixth, and Nyck de Vries completing the top seven for Prema Racing. Maini set more laps than anyone else in the morning (48).

In eighth position on the timesheet was Oliver Rowland, whose fastest time was over six tenths adrift of Norris’ benchmark.

Reigning GP3 champion George Russell was ninth fastest for ART, but stopped on track with just 20 minutes of the morning session remaining.

He wasn’t the only car to encounter trouble with Roberto Merhi and Sean Gelael also causing red flags in the morning.

Nirei Fukuzumi rounded out the top 10 for BWT Arden. His team-mate?Maximilian Gunther completed just 18 laps.

The first test concludes tomorrow, with the second and final pre-season F2 test scheduled to start on May 21 in Bahrain.

Combined day two times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Lando Norris Carlin 1:42.226 1:43.375
2 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:42.387 1:43.391
3 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:43.197 1:42.406
4 Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:42.566 1:44.745
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 1:42.698 1:42.803
6 Arjun Maini Trident 1:42.700 1:42.903
7 Nyck De Vries Prema Racing 1:43.008 1:42.701
8 Oliver Rowland DAMS 1:43.363 1:42.840
9 George Russell ART Grand Prix 1:42.959 1:45.980
10 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden 1:43.343 1:43.081
11 Luca Ghiotto Campos Racing 1:43.197 1:43.720
12 Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System 1:43.608 1:43.324
13 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport 1:44.893 1:43.328
14 Sean Gelael Prema Racing 1:43.345 1:44.055
15 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:44.564 1:43.495
16 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:43.726 1:43.583
17 Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:43.720 1:44.020
18 Maximilian Gunther Arden 1:44.027 1:54.558
19 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:45.872 1:44.380
20 Roy Nissany Campos Racing 1:44.626 1:46.968