Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Lance Stroll heads first day of Portimao Formula 3 running

Lance Stroll heads first day of Portimao Formula 3 running

by Peter Allen
Lance Stroll

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

The first of two days of FIA F3 European Championship testing at Portimao ahead of this weekend’s races saw Lance Stroll top the times in two sessions run over two different circuit configurations.

In the morning session, Stroll set a time of 1m38.484s to beat Markus Pommer to top spot by 14 thousandths of a second.

The afternoon saw the drivers negotiating the track’s additional chicane at Turns 1 and 2, after the original right-hand sweeper led to significant track limits abuse.

The modification didn’t stop Stroll though, and the 16-year-old Canadian’s 1m43.305s late in the day was enough to edge Prema team-mate Felix Rosenqvist by 0.032 seconds.

In the morning, VAR drivers Arjun Maini and Alessio Lorandi?had completed the top four, with British Carlin duo Callum Ilott and George Russell next up.

Rosenqvist was seventh ahead of rival and championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi, fresh from his DTM debut in Russia with Audi last weekend.

Mikkel Jensen was the top Mucke Motorsport driver in ninth, while Nick Cassidy took 10th in his first drive with Prema ahead of contesting the next two rounds with the team.

Pommer kept up his form in the afternoon with third in front of championship frontrunners Jake Dennis, Giovinazzi and Charles Leclerc, who was 12th in the morning.

Russell was seventh ahead of Raoul Hyman, Julio Moreno and Ilott.

Cassidy was 13th in the afternoon, while the other series returnee Alexander Sims was 13th and 17th in the respective sessions for the new HitechGP entry.

32 drivers took part in the test, with both West-Tec and Double R down to just one car and missing Fabian Schiller and Nicolas Pohler respectively, while Mucke regular Kang Ling was also absent.

Combined testing times
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:38.484 1:43.305
2 Markus Pommer Motopark 1:38.498 1:43.516
3 Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 1:38.631 1:44.541
4 Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 1:38.767 1:43.711
5 Callum Ilott Carlin 1:38.791 1:43.644
6 George Russell Carlin 1:38.933 1:43.580
7 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 1:38.934 1:43.337
8 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 1:38.958 1:43.559
9 Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 1:38.981 1:43.710
10 Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 1:39.004 1:43.783
11 Sam MacLeod Motopark 1:39.048
12 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 1:39.066 1:43.560
13 Alexander Sims HitechGP 1:39.119 1:44.013
14 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 1:39.152 1:44.059
15 Matt Solomon Double R Racing 1:39.262 1:44.519
16 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 1:39.305 1:43.831
17 Alex Albon Signature 1:39.306 1:43.866
18 Raoul Hyman West-Tec 1:39.359 1:43.586
19 Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 1:39.404 1:44.481
20 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 1:39.412 1:44.319
21 Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 1:39.454 1:43.544
22 Ryan Tveter Carlin 1:39.554 1:44.186
23 Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 1:39.672 1:44.134
24 Nabil Jeffri Motopark 1:39.698 1:43.982
25 Gustavo Menezes Carlin 1:39.714 1:44.156
26 Julio Moreno T-Sport 1:39.848 1:43.633
27 Tatiana Calderon Carlin 1:39.939 1:44.106
28 Peter Li Fortec Motorsports 1:40.048 1:44.936
29 Dorian Boccolacci Signature 1:40.170 1:44.417
30 Andy Chang Fortec Motorsports 1:40.231 1:44.809
31 Matt Rao Fortec Motorsports 1:40.273 1:44.653
32 Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 1:41.796 1:46.480