Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Kvyat unmatched on day two of Hockenheim testing

Kvyat unmatched on day two of Hockenheim testing

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

FIA F3 guest driver Daniil Kvyat topped both Thursday testing sessions in the collective running at Hockenheim, mastering the inconsistent weather conditions.

In the first session, Kvyat set what would end up being the benchmark for the day, going a quarter of a second quicker than his Carlin teammate Jordan King.

Felix Rosenqvist took third, ahead of the Van Amersfoort duo of Sven Muller and Dennis van de Laar, who both continued to display excellent pace on testing. Felix Serralles took sixth, with quickest Prema driver Lucas Auer in seventh.

All five Carlin cars made the top ten in the morning as Harry Tincknell, Nicholas Latifi and Jann Mardenborough placed eighth, ninth and tenth respectively. Kevin Korjus, who took over for Alexander Sims in the T-Sport machine for the Thursday running, was 11th.

In the afternoon, Kvyat was, again, quickest, with a lap time less than two tenths slower than his morning effort. Muller ended the test on a strong note in second, ahead of his former teammate – ma-con’s Andre Rudersdorf.

Rosenqvist took fourth, with Prema duo Raffaele Marciello and Auer taking fifth and sixth respectively. Tincknell, Serralles, Korjus and Mardenborough completed the top ten.

Session results

Pos. Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Daniil Kvyat Carlin 1:33.305 1:33.486
2 Jordan King Carlin 1:33.564 1:34.193
3 Felix Rosenqvist KFZTeile24 M?cke Motorsport 1:33.645 1:33.857
4 Sven Muller Van Amersfoort Racing 1:33.805 1:33.714
5 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort Racing 1:33.830 1:34.018
6 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con 1:34.119 1:33.844
7 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 1:34.094 1:33.876
8 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 1:33.912 1:33.884
9 Felix Serralles Fortec Motorsports 1:33.902 1:34.002
10 Harry Tincknell Carlin 1:33.926 1:33.971
11 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 1:33.945 1:34.090
12 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 1:33.989 1:34.016
13 Kevin Korjus ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:34.078 1:34.014
14 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 1:34.856 1:34.082
15 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 1:34.153 1:34.089
16 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport 1:34.513 1:34.121
17 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational 1:34.399 1:34.141
18 Jimmy Eriksson ma-con 1:34.223 1:34.446
19 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports 1:34.278 1:34.362
20 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam 1:34.360 1:34.402
21 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 1:34.422 1:34.482
22 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport 1:34.761 1:34.500
23 Spike Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:35.424 1:34.641
24 Sean Gelael Double R Racing 1:35.752 1:34.639
25 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing 1:35.510 1:35.302
26 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing 1:35.913 1:35.986
27 Michela Cerruti Romeo Ferraris 1:36.568 1:37.278

Quickest personal time in bold
Quickest time of session in italics